Introduction

The Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) is responsible for a wide range of geotechnical engineering activities related to the safe and economic utilisation and development of land.

The GEO operates on the basis of 11 Divisions under the direction of the Head of Geotechnical Engineering Office and provides the following geotechnical engineering services:

Geotechnical Control And Land Use Planning

One of the GEO's major slope safety regulatory functions is to audit the design of geotechnical works to ensure they meet current safety standards. Geotechnical auditing is exercised largely through our 3 District Divisions: Island, Mainland East and Mainland West Divisions. Each District Division is responsible for a geographical region of Hong Kong.

The scope of auditing covers the design of the geotechnical aspects of all building developments and civil engineering works and the standards of site supervision. In particular, the District Divisions audit the site formation works, landslip prevention and mitigation works, deep excavations, tunnelling works, caverns and foundation works in areas with cavernous marble or complex geological conditions that are designed and constructed by the private sector, public authorities and government departments.

In exercising geotechnical control over private sector projects, we operate through the statutory powers of the Buildings Department to approve design submissions made by a developer's agent or an owner's agent before construction proceeds.

The District Divisions also provide an emergency response service in relation to landslide incidents and advice on the clearance of squatter structures on slope safety grounds.

One of the most effective methods for reducing landslide risks is land use planning, in which the potential impact of natural hazards is taken into account in planning new developments as part of a wider risk management strategy.

We provide the Planning Department and the Lands Department with geotechnical input at the early stages of land developments, identifying any geotechnical constraints and advising on the suitability of land for specific purposes.

We also undertake technical studies to promote the enhanced use of rock caverns and urban underground space for more efficient use of land resources.

Po Shan Road and Kotewall Road Landslide in 1972
Po Shan Road and Kotewall Road Landslide in 1972
The Groundwater Drainage System of Po Shan Road was constructed to control the groundwater levels for reducing the risk of major landslides
The Groundwater Drainage System of Po Shan Road was constructed to control the groundwater levels for reducing the risk of major landslides
A check dam protecting Nam Chung Tsuen, Tai O
A check dam protecting Nam Chung Tsuen, Tai O
A flexible barrier protecting Tung Chung Road
A flexible barrier protecting Tung Chung Road
Terraced slope greening works at Bowen Road
Terraced slope greening works at Bowen Road
Vegetation on a man-made slope at Oaklands Avenue, Mid-level
Vegetation on a man-made slope at Oaklands Avenue, Mid-level
PrevNext

Implementation of the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP)

The GEO manages projects under the LPMitP, including planning and launching the projects, managing financial resources, monitoring works expenditure and progress, and appointing and managing consultants to undertake the projects. We select potentially substandard man-made slopes and vulnerable natural hillside catchments for inclusion into the LPMitP and provide technical support to other departments with regard to preventive maintenance works.

As part of the LPMitP, studies of high priority man-made slopes, retaining walls and natural hillside catchments are carried out to identify potential danger and the need for preventive and mitigation works. Where preventive, remedial or mitigation measures are needed for man-made slopes or natural hillside catchments that are under Government's maintenance responsibility, detailed design and the necessary works will be carried out to reduce the landslide risk.

In the design of slope upgrading works, innovative design approaches and new techniques are adopted where possible in order to improve quality and enhance cost effectiveness.

We carry out tendering, management and supervision of contracts for LPMit works designed in-house.

Apart from in-house slope studies, we are also responsible for managing consultants, who are engaged in assignments to investigate, design, prepare contracts, manage and supervise the construction of LPMit works.

As for slopes or retaining walls on private land, we manage consultants who are engaged to study and recommend follow-up actions. Where the slope or retaining wall studied is found to be sub-standard, unstable or becoming dangerous, statutory orders will be issued to the responsible private owners by the Buildings Department through the Buildings Ordinance to ensure appropriate follow-up actions to be taken on the sub-standard situations.

In 2017, about $1.0 billion was spent on studies and LPMit works, through which 155 government man-made slopes were upgraded, safety-screening studies for 103 private man-made slopes were completed and mitigation works for 49 natural hillside catchments were implemented.

Natural Terrain Landslide Risk Management

Tsing Shan debris flow in 1990

Tsing Shan debris flow in 1990

About 60% of Hong Kong's total land area consists of relatively steep natural terrain. Landslides occurring in natural terrain can be very large and travel long distances, such as those occurred in Tsing Shan in 1990, Sham Tseng San Tsuen in 1999, and western Lantau in 2008. The GEO has carried out numerous research and development activities since the early 1990s to prepare for the risks posed by natural terrain landslides. The natural terrain hazard studies and necessary mitigation works on selected sites with known significant natural terrain hazards are undertaken under the LPMitP.

Over the years, we have made significant advances in applying new digital and information technology and expanded its ability to manage natural terrain landslides. Geographical Information System is used in spatial analysis and 3-D engineering modelling. Some of the new technologies adopted include digital photogrammetry, satellite-based Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar, remote sensing using 3-D laser scanning and image processing and air-borne Light Detection and Ranging.

Landslide Investigation

Investigation works under LPMitP

Investigation works under LPMitP

Systematic landslide investigations are carried out as part of the LPMitP. The scope of landslide investigations includes examination of all reported landslide incidents and in-depth studies of selected significant landslides to identify the causes of failure and necessary follow-up actions. The objectives of systematic landslide investigations are to identify slopes in need of early attention and undertake forensic assessments of landslides that involve subsequent coroner inquests or legal actions. Through landslide investigations, the performance of the Government's slope safety system will be reviewed and areas for improvement identified. Landslide investigations will advance the understanding of the causes and mechanisms of landslides and enhance the slope engineering practices and the reliability of landslide preventive or mitigation works.

Standards and Testing

The GEO undertakes technical development work for the production of geotechnical standards. We promulgate technical guidance in our publications. Up to June 2018, we have released 417 publications. These can be purchased from the Publications Sales Unit of the Information Services Department, or downloaded from the CEDD website. Please refer to the catalogue of GEO publications on the CEDD website for details.

The technical development work is carried out in-house as well as in partnership with universities, consultants and contractors. It provides essential technical support to various aspects of the works for landslip mitigation. This includes technical guidelines on soil nail design and construction, development of prescriptive measures to improve existing man-made slopes and retaining walls, priority ranking system for the selection of slopes for actions, technical guidelines on landscape treatment for slopes, design and construction approaches for landslide debris-resisting barriers and regional seismic microzonation study to assess seismic hazards of natural terrain.

Technical development work was also undertaken on quantitative risk assessment techniques for landslide risk management, assessment of debris mobility for natural terrain landslides, greening techniques, rainfall and landslide relationship, assessment of effects of climate change on landslide risk, and properties of saprolite, loose fill and other construction materials.

Testing services are provided through the Public Works Laboratories (PWL), which comprise the Public Works Central Laboratory and five Public Works Regional Laboratories. The PWL are accredited under the Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Scheme for most of the tests as well as a range of calibration services. The PWL provide a wide range of construction material testing services principally for government projects. These include tests on aggregates, bitumen and bituminous materials, cement, concrete, pulverised fuel ash, rubber fender, soil, rock, steel, chemical compositions of construction materials and Time Domain Reflectometry tests on soil nails. In addition, the PWL conduct research and development work related to construction material testing to enhance the quality of service and meet the needs of the construction industry. We manage the List of Approved Suppliers of Materials and Specialist Contractors for Public Works under the category of Soil and Rock Testing, and two PWL Lists of Contractors for Concrete Testing and for Reinforcing Steel Testing. The PWL also provide testing services for other government departments on forensic investigations.

Technical standards and guidance documents published by the GEO
Technical standards and guidance documents published by the GEO
Triaxial Test of soil samples in PWL
Triaxial Test of soil samples in PWL
PrevNext

Emergency Services

The GEO Emergency Control Centre in operation

The GEO Emergency Control Centre in operation

There are around 300 reported landslides in Hong Kong each year. The GEO maintains a 24-hour year-round emergency service to provide geotechnical advice to government departments on actions to be taken to protect public safety in case of danger arising from landslips. Upon request, our geotechnical engineers will carry out site inspections with the responsible government departments and give advice on any necessary mitigation measures and emergency works.

Landslip Warning System

The GEO operates an automatic raingauge system utilising advanced data logging and processing equipment and software. It comprises an extensive network of about 100 automatic raingauges providing real-time rainfall data to the operation of the Landslip Warning System. Based on historical data, we developed a landslide frequency-rainfall model which can estimate the total number of potential landslides for a certain storm. By combining this with the rainfall forecasts from the Hong Kong Observatory, the Government is able to make a decision on the issuing or cancelling of a Landslip Warning.

Public Education and Community Advisory Services

Private owners are responsible for their slopes. The GEO has sustained community education programmes to remind private owners of the importance of slope maintenance in preventing landslides. A dedicated Community Advisory Unit (Tel No.: 2760 5800) has been set up to provide proactive outreach services and advice to help private slope owners discharge their slope maintenance responsibilities.

Apart from providing community services to private slope owners, we have developed a comprehensive proactive strategy to educate the public to take necessary precautions especially when the Landslip Warning is in force. It involves partnership with the community in promoting public awareness of slope safety through education, regular publicity campaigns and information services. Our public education activities include organising slope safety roving exhibitions and talks, broadcasting television and radio announcements of public interest, and promoting slope safety messages through media and electronic platforms, etc.

In addition, we have been proactively assisting the Education Bureau in providing the most updated and suitable information on slope safety for the New Senior Secondary (NSS) Geography Curriculum, with a view to enhancing the understanding of teachers and students on slope safety issues in Hong Kong. For example, we prepared a teaching support materials kit on 2 topics namely Natural Hazards and Earth Sciences for distribution to all secondary schools in Hong Kong. We also regularly organise seminars and visits for geography teachers.

A slope safety exhibition at school
A slope safety exhibition at school
The Meet-the-Public service of the GEO's Community Advisory Unit
The "Meet-the-Public" service of the GEO's Community Advisory Unit
A field trip on landslide mitigation measures for geography teachers
A field trip on landslide mitigation measures for geography teachers
PrevNext

Slope Information System

Hong Kong Slope Safety website

Hong Kong Slope Safety website

Landslide prevention begins with information. The GEO's work in improving slope safety in Hong Kong is greatly enhanced by the use of information technology to collect and disseminate slope information. Containing information of 60,000 registered man-made slopes and retaining walls, the Slope Information System (SIS) provides engineers as well as the general public with updated slope information through the slope safety website (http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk).

Hong Kong Geological Survey

Geological map of Hong Kong

Geological map of Hong Kong

One of the GEO's most notable technical achievements is the development of improved understanding of the characteristics of weathered rock, which is prerequisite for a successful slope engineering design. Many of the landslide problems that affect Hong Kong are related to weathering processes which gradually change rock into soil.

In 1982, we established the Hong Kong Geological Survey. It maintains the most comprehensive archive of geological information in Hong Kong and provides authoritative advice on Hong Kong's geology to the Government, the engineering profession and the public. It also produces geological maps and relevant publications, and compiles engineering geological and natural terrain database for use by the Government and the private sector. Many of the datasets are stored in the Geographical Information System. An online version of the geology of Hong Kong has been uploaded onto the slope safety website which is accessible via http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk. A mobile version of the Geological Map of Hong Kong can also be downloaded from the Android Play Store and Apple Store.

Advisory and Ground Investigation Services

The GEO undertakes geotechnical feasibility studies, investigations and design for a wide range of government projects. We also provide ad-hoc 'clinic' advice to project departments to deal with geotechnical problems regarding natural terrains, caverns and tunnels during the project implementation. In addition, we render project-based support for works department to enhance the cost-effectiveness of geotechnical works in major capital works projects.

Furthermore, we implement tunnel / cavern related projects in order to develop underground space for different government uses and free up land for better urban developments. Furthermore, we manage the certification system for reinforced fill products used in Hong Kong and the list of approved off-site rebar prefabrication yards for public works contracts.

Through the letting of term contracts, we provide ground investigation services and geophysical surveys to government departments. We also manage the List of Approved Suppliers of Materials and Specialist Contractors for Public Works under the category of Ground Investigation Field Work.

Regulatory Control of Explosives and Management of Quarries

Mines Division, on behalf of the Commissioner of Mines, who is the Director of Civil Engineering and Development, is the regulatory authority for the manufacture, storage, conveyance (on land) and use of explosives under the Dangerous Goods Ordinance. It is also responsible for issuing Mines Blasting Certificates under the Mines (Safety) Regulations to shot firers who are permitted to use blasting explosives. As part of its responsibilities, the division manages the Government Explosives Depots, which provide storage for explosives, provides an explosives delivery service from the Depots to blasting sites, carries out audit inspections for blasting sites and explosives stores, and provides technical support to other government departments on matters relating to explosives, including fireworks displays.

Mines Division is responsible for the management and rehabilitation of rock quarries in Hong Kong. These quarries supply aggregates and rock products to the local construction industry. They also process surplus rock generated from local construction projects to produce aggregates. As an ongoing exercise, the division carries out studies related to strategy of rock supply and Hong Kong's rock resources management, including searching for potential quarry sites, research on aggregate suitability and review on supply chain of concrete.

Fireworks display at Victoria Harbour
Fireworks display at Victoria Harbour
A government explosives truck
A government explosives truck
PrevNext

簡介

土木工程拓展署轄下的土力工程處專責各項岩土工程工作,使土地的運用和開發符合安全及經濟原則。

土力工程處由土力工程處處長掌管,轄下設有11個分部,提供以下各種岩土工程服務:

岩土工程管制和土地規劃

在斜坡安全監管方面,土力工程處的主要工作之一是審核岩土工程設計,確保它們符合現行的安全標準。岩土工程審核工作主要由我們轄下3個按區域劃分的地區分部執行,即港島部、九龍及新界東部和九龍及新界西部。

岩土工程審核的範圍包括所有建築發展和土木工程的岩土工程設計,以及工地監督標準。上述各地區分部會審核由私人、公共機構及政府部門設計和進行的各種土地平整工程、防治山泥傾瀉工程、深層挖掘工程、隧道工程、岩洞工程,以及含溶洞的大理岩或複雜地質狀況地區內的地基工程。

屋宇署負責審批私人發展商或業主代理人在進行建造工程前呈交的設計。我們則透過屋宇署的法定權力,管制私人發展計劃的岩土工程。

地區分部亦就山泥傾瀉事故提供緊急應變服務,並且就基於斜坡安全理由而進行的寮屋清拆工作提供意見。

土地用途規劃是減低山泥傾瀉風險的一個最有效方法,亦即在策劃新項目時,一併考慮天然災害的潛在影響,作為整體風險管理策略的一環。

我們一向為規劃署及地政總署提供岩土工程方面的專業意見,在土地發展項目的初期,指出各種岩土工程限制,並對土地是否適合作特定用途提供意見。

我們亦進行技術研究,以推廣善用岩洞和市區地下空間,達到更有效運用土地資源的目標。

1972年寶珊道旭龢道山泥傾瀉
1972年寶珊道旭龢道山泥傾瀉
興建寶珊道地下水排放系統以控制地下水位,從而減低發生大型滑坡的風險
興建寶珊道地下水排放系統以控制地下水位,從而減低發生大型滑坡的風險
保護大澳南涌村的泥石壩
保護大澳南涌村的泥石壩
保護東涌道的柔性防護欄
保護東涌道的柔性防護欄
寶雲道梯田式斜坡美化方案
寶雲道梯田式斜坡美化方案
半山屋蘭士街的人造斜坡綠樹成蔭
半山屋蘭士街的人造斜坡綠樹成蔭
上一張相片下一張相片

推行「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」

土力工程處負責管理「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」下的工程項目,包括策劃和開展項目、管理財政資源、監察工程開支和進度、委聘及管理顧問等。此外,我們亦負責篩選納入「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」的可能不合標準的人造斜坡和有潛在山泥傾瀉風險的天然山坡;並為其他部門的預防性維修斜坡工程提供技術支援。

「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」的工作包括研究須優先處理的人造斜坡、擋土牆和天然山坡,確定其潛在風險和所需的防護和緩減工程。倘由政府負責維修的人造斜坡或天然山坡需採取防護、補救或緩減措施,我們會進行詳細設計和有關工程,以減低山泥傾瀉風險。

我們亦致力改善防治山泥傾瀉工程設計的質素和提升經濟效益,並採用合適的創新設計和嶄新技術。

我們負責進行招標、管理和監管由本處內部進行設計的防治山泥傾瀉工程。

除了進行內部斜坡研究外,我們亦負責管理各個顧問以執行相關工作:包括為防治山泥傾瀉工程勘測、設計、擬備合約,以及管理和監督工程的進行等。

至於私人斜坡或擋土牆,我們負責顧問管理,進行岩土工程研究和建議跟進行動。倘發現私人斜坡或擋土牆的穩定性不合標準或可能變得危險,屋宇署會根據《建築物條例》,對須負責的私人業主發出法定修葺令,確保不合標準的情況得到合適跟進。

在2017年,防治山泥傾瀉的研究和工程開支約為10億元。我們共鞏固了155個政府人造斜坡,為103個私人人造斜坡進行了安全篩選研究,以及為49幅天然山坡進行了風險緩減工程。

天然山坡山泥傾瀉的風險管理

1990年的青山泥石流

1990年的青山泥石流

全港約有6成面積的土地為較陡峭的天然山坡,一旦發生山泥傾瀉,其規模可能很大,覆蓋範圍亦會非常廣闊。在1990年、1999年及2008年分別於青山、深井新村和大嶼山西部發生的山泥傾瀉便是例證。土力工程處自90年代初以來,進行了大量的研究和發展工作,為應付天然山坡山泥傾瀉的風險作好準備。我們選取了一些已知會受嚴重天然山坡風險威脅的地區,在「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」下進行天然山坡風險研究,並施行所需的風險緩減工程。

過去多年,我們在使用新數碼及資訊科技方面有顯著進展,提升了管理天然山坡山泥傾瀉風險的能力。我們把地理信息系統應用在空間分析和三維工程模擬上,而採用的新科技包括數碼攝影測量、衛星合成孔徑雷達干涉測量技術、三維遙感激光掃描和影像處理,以及空載遙感激光掃描。

山泥傾瀉勘測

在長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃下的視察工作

在長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃下的視察工作

土力工程處在「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」下進行有系統的山泥傾瀉勘測。勘測工作包括調查所有山泥傾瀉事故報告和深入研究選定的嚴重山泥傾瀉個案,以確定山泥崩塌的原因和所需的跟進行動。進行有系統的山泥傾瀉勘測,目的是找出需及早檢修的斜坡,以及就涉及死因研訊或法律行動等的山泥傾瀉事故提供法證評估。透過山泥傾瀉勘測,可檢討政府斜坡安全系統的成效和找出可改善的地方。山泥傾瀉勘測亦有助進一步了解山泥傾瀉的成因和原理,改善斜坡工程常規,加強防止山泥傾瀉或緩減工程的可靠性。

標準及測試

在制訂岩土工程標準方面,土力工程處進行技術拓展工作,並透過我們出版的刊物推行有關的技術指引。截至2018年6月,我們共出版了417份土力工程處刊物。我們的刊物可在政府新聞處刊物銷售組購買或在土木工程拓展署網頁下載。詳情請參閱土木工程拓展署網頁上的土力工程處刊物目錄。

除了在內部進行技術拓展工作,我們亦聯同大學、顧問和承建商合作進行技術拓展工作,為防治山泥傾瀉工程提供各方面的重要技術支援,當中包括制訂泥釘設計及建造指南、發展習用措施以改善現有人造斜坡及擋土牆、訂立排序系統用以篩選斜坡以作跟進、制訂斜坡的環境美化技術指南、探討滑坡泥石屏障的設計及建造方法,以及進行區域地震研究以評估地震對天然山坡的風險。

此外,我們已進行多項技術拓展工作,包括用於管理山泥傾瀉風險的量化風險評估技術、天然山坡滑波泥石流動性的評估、綠化技術、研究雨量與山泥傾瀉的關係、評估氣候變化對山泥傾瀉風險的影響,以及風化土、疏鬆填土和其他建築物料的特性等。

測試服務由工務試驗所負責,試驗所由1間工務中央試驗所和5間工務區域試驗所組成。而工務試驗所的多項測試及校正服務均已獲得「香港實驗所認可計劃」的認可。工務試驗所主要為政府工程提供多種類的建築材料測試服務,包括試驗碎石、瀝青與瀝青物料、水泥、混凝土、粉煤灰泥、橡膠護舷、土壤、岩石、鋼材、建築材料的化學成份、以及時域反射法泥釘測試等。此外,工務試驗所亦會進行新測試技術的研究和發展工作,以提升服務質素,配合建築行業的需求。我們亦負責管理土壤及岩石試驗類別的《認可公共工程物料供應商及專門承造商名冊》和兩份工務試驗所認可承辦商名冊(混凝土試驗及鋼筋試驗)。工務試驗所亦為其他政府部門提供法証測試服務。

土力工程處出版的岩土工程標準及技術指引
土力工程處出版的岩土工程標準及技術指引
工務試驗所的三軸土壤測試
工務試驗所的三軸土壤測試
上一張相片下一張相片

緊急服務

正在運作的土力工程處緊急控制中心

正在運作的土力工程處緊急控制中心

香港每年約有300宗山泥傾瀉報告。土力工程處設有全年廿四小時的緊急服務,以便一旦因山泥傾瀉產生危險時,為各政府部門就所需的應變行動提供岩土工程方面的意見,以保障公眾安全。我們的土力工程師會按要求與有關政府部門到現場視察,並就所需的緩解措施或緊急工程提出建議。

山泥傾瀉警報系統

土力工程處採用了先進的數據記錄及處理設備和電腦軟件,以運作一套自動雨量計系統。此系統由大約100個自動雨量計組成,網絡覆蓋範圍廣闊,為山泥傾瀉警報系統的運作提供即時雨量數據。我們綜合過往多年的數據,研發了一個山泥傾瀉發生頻率和雨量關係的模型。以計算在一場暴雨可能發生的山泥傾瀉數目。根據這個模型的數據分析連同天文台的降雨預測,政府便可決定發放或取消山泥傾瀉警告。

公眾教育和社區諮詢服務

私人業主須為其斜坡承擔責任。土力工程處持續推行社區教育計劃,促使私人業主明白維修斜坡對防止山泥傾瀉的重要性。我們已設立「社區諮詢服務組」(熱線電話:2760 5800),主動為業主提供外展諮詢服務及意見,以幫助他們履行其斜坡維修責任。

除了向私人業主提供外展諮詢服務,我們亦採取了一套完善而積極的策略,教導市民在山泥傾瀉警報生效時應採取的防備措施,並推動社區合作,透過公眾教育、定期宣傳活動及資訊服務,提高市民對斜坡安全的認知。我們的公眾教育活動包括:舉辦斜坡安全巡迴展覽和講座、在電視和電台播放宣傳片和聲帶,以及透過傳媒和電子平台宣傳斜坡安全信息等。

此外,我們近年積極協助教育局為新高中地理科課程提供斜坡安全的最新和最合適資訊,用以提升老師及學生們對香港斜坡安全的認識。例如我們製作了一套有關天然災害和地球科學這兩個課題的教學支援教材分發給全港中學。我們亦定期為地理科老師舉辦研討會及參觀活動等。

在學校舉行斜坡安全展覽
在學校舉行斜坡安全展覽
土力工程處社區諮詢服務組的「會見市民」服務
土力工程處社區諮詢服務組的「會見市民」服務
帶領地理科老師參觀防治山泥傾瀉工程
帶領地理科老師參觀防治山泥傾瀉工程
上一張相片下一張相片

斜坡資訊系統

香港斜坡安全網站

香港斜坡安全網站

掌握資訊,才能防患未然。土力工程處利用資訊科技收集並發放斜坡資料,大大加強了香港在改善斜坡安全方面的工作。「斜坡資訊系統」載有香港6萬幅已登記的人造斜坡和擋土牆資料,讓工程師以至市民大眾均可從斜坡安全網(http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk)取得最新的斜坡資料。

香港地質調查

香港地質圖

香港地質圖

土力工程處其中一項顯著的技術成就,是對風化岩石特性的深入理解,這是斜坡工程設計的首要條件。很多香港的山泥傾瀉問題,與岩石在風化過程中逐漸變成泥土的過程有關。

我們在1982年成立香港地質調查組。該組備有本港最全面的地質資料,並為政府、工程界和市民提供有關香港地質的權威性意見。香港地質調查組編製香港地質圖及相關的刊物,並建立工程地質和天然山坡的資料庫,供政府和私人機構使用。大部分資料儲存於地理資訊系統內。香港地質圖的網上版本,已上載於斜坡安全網 http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk。香港地質圖的移動設備版本,可以在Android Play商店和Apple商店下載。

顧問和岩土勘探服務

土力工程處為各項政府工程進行岩土工程可行性研究、勘探和設計工作,更在各工程部門需要時提供專業「顧問」服務,協助他們處理在工程項目推行期間,於天然山坡、岩洞和隧道出現的岩土工程問題。此外,我們為工務部門提供以項目為本的支援服務,以提高大型基本工程計畫中土力工程的成本效益。

我們亦進行隧道/岩洞的相關工程,以發展地下空間作不同政府用途,釋放土地作更好的城市發展。

此外,我們並負責管理香港加筋土物料的認證系統和供公共工程合約使用的認可工地外鋼筋預製工場名冊。

我們亦透過批出定期合約,為政府部門提供岩土勘探服務及地球物理測量,並管理場地勘探工程類別下的《認可公共工程物料供應商及專門承造商名冊》。

管制爆炸品和管理石礦場

礦務部是代表土木工程拓展署署長兼任的礦務處處長,按《危險品條例》負責監管爆炸品的製造、儲存、運送(陸路)和使用。根據《礦場(安全)規例》,礦務部發放礦場燃爆證書予獲批准使用爆炸品的引爆手。礦務部職責當中亦包括管理儲存爆炸品的政府爆炸品倉庫,提供爆炸品從政府爆炸品倉庫運送到爆破工地的服務,進行爆破工地和爆炸品儲存庫的檢查巡視,以及向其他政府部門提供涉及爆炸品,包括煙花匯演的技術支援。

關於石礦場方面,礦務部負責管理及修復香港的石礦場。這些石礦場除了為本地建造業提供所需石材,同時亦處理來自本地建設項目所產生的過剩岩石,以製成石料。一如既往,礦務部亦會就本港未來的石料供應及石資源管理進行研究,包括物色新石礦場選址,評估不同類型岩石是否適合製成石料,以及審視混凝土供應概況。

在維多利亞港舉行的煙花匯演
在維多利亞港舉行的煙花匯演
政府爆炸品車輛
政府爆炸品車輛
上一張相片下一張相片