Greening

Greening works contribute to the improvement of air quality in addition to the aesthetic of an area. They are essential to the protection, rehabilitation and enhancement of our landscape and ecological environment, which helps create sustainable environmental outcomes. Apart from fulfilling the functional requirements of the development projects, the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) has been actively promoting greening through a wide range of initiatives, including (1) development and implementation of the Greening Master Plans (GMPs) and other greening initiatives; (2) greening works associated with infrastructure projects; (3) greening works associated with the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation works; (4) greening works for quarry rehabilitation; (5) soil erosion control planting on natural hill slopes; and (6) tree risk assessment and management.

Some of the plant species commonly recommended in the Greening Master Plans

Some of the plant species commonly recommended in the Greening Master Plans

Development and Implementation of Greening Master Plans and Other Greening Initiatives

Greening Master Plans Planting Ceremonies

Greening Master Plans Planting Ceremonies

A Greening Master Plan (GMP) seeks to define comprehensively the greening framework of an area by studying its characteristics and particular needs, and providing a guide to the planning, design and implementation of greening works. To ensure high-level commitment to the GMPs, each GMP is approved by the Greening Master Plan Committee chaired by the Director of Civil Engineering and Development, and endorsed by the Steering Committee on Greening, Landscape and Tree Management chaired by the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works).

We promote public participation in the GMP formulation process and adopt the "Enhanced Partnering Approach" whereby each relevant District Council forms a District Participation Group (DPG) to partner with us in reviewing the contents of the GMPs and to advise us on the greening of the districts. The successful implementation of greening measures is made through expertise and coordination of multiple disciplines, including landscape architecture, town planning, civil and traffic engineering and even public relations. We organise community planting ceremonies and school talks and invite local residents to participate in our planting activities. We believe that public participation not only enables us to tap into valuable local knowledge but also creates a sense of ownership of the GMPs in the community. We have received very encouraging responses and appreciation of our works from the public.

Following the successful completion in 2011 of the GMPs for the urban areas, we commenced the greening works in the GMPs for Sha Tin, Sai Kung, Tuen Mun and Yuen Long in 2014, and completed them in 2017. We have planted about 4,000 trees and 2.6 million shrubs in the four aforementioned districts. We are planning for the implementation of GMPs for New Territories in Tsuen Wan, Kwai Tsing, Islands, Tai Po and North District.

Here are photos of some of the completed greening works in urban areas and the New Territories:

Greening works at central median of Yuen Wo Road, Sha Tin
Greening works at central median of Yuen Wo Road, Sha Tin
Greening works at Tin Wah Road, Tin Shui Wai
Greening works at Tin Wah Road, Tin Shui Wai
"Rain Garden" at Wylie Road
"Rain Garden" at Wylie Road
"Vegetation Diversity" planting works at Tung Chung Eastern Interchange
"Vegetation Diversity" planting works at Tung Chung Eastern Interchange
PrevNext

Landscape Improvement Works in Ngong Ping

Photomontage of the landscape improvement works in Ngong Ping

Photomontage of the landscape improvement works in Ngong Ping

The Sustainable Lantau Blueprint announced in June 2017 by the Government dedicated part of Lantau Island to be used for conservation with sustainable leisure and recreational purposes. In view of the cool climate, good transport connectivity as well as the synergy with the existing tourist attractions in Ngong Ping, we have planted around 400 cherry trees and native spring-flowering trees in Ngong Ping for visitors' enjoyment during the blossoming season.

We commenced the landscape improvement works in Ngong Ping in January 2018 and completed the works in mid 2018. We held a planting ceremony in January 2018 to give impetus to the landscape improvement works.

Trial Schemes for "Rain Garden" and "Vegetation Diversity"

To celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the establishment of the HKSAR, DEVB launched a "City Dress-up" Programme to enhance the city's appearance and also to augment the liveability of Hong Kong. This includes a trial scheme to transform an existing traffic island at Wylie Road into a "Rain Garden". Rain Garden helps our city to absorb more rainwater. It is designed with layers of different soil particle sizes that allow more rainwater to infiltrate into the garden. In carrying out the planting design, we have carefully selected plants that can filter out some of the pollutants in the rainwater, thus reducing pollution to our waterways and harbour. The plants can also adapt to both wet and dry conditions, and require little maintenance. CEDD, in collaboration with DSD, completed the construction works for the trial scheme of Rain Garden in February 2018 and the plants will blossom during growing season.

Another trial scheme is enhancing an existing planter at Tung Chung Eastern Interchange with a main focus on promotion of "Vegetation Diversity". For the planting design, a more diverse plant palette with emphasis on native species were selected to enhance biodiversity. We completed the landscape works in December 2017 and the plants are in good conditions. We will closely monitor the effectiveness of the trial schemes.

Greening Works Associated with Infrastructure Projects

Central and Western District Promenade (Central Section) in Central Reclamation Phase III

Central and Western District Promenade (Central Section) in Central Reclamation Phase III

We provide essential infrastructure to the public with the prime purpose of fulfilling the community's growing need for enhanced safety, well-being and quality of living. To this end, most of our infrastructure projects include the provision of extensive planting schemes serving as landscape / ecological enhancement and impact mitigation measures. Such greening works involve planting in a variety of settings like roadsides, footbridges and flyovers, podiums, slopes, river channels and promenades.

Some of the major infrastructure projects with extensive planting schemes included Development at Anderson Road and Kai Tak development – Stage 3A and Stage 4 infrastructure works at north apron area of Kai Tak Airport. In 2017, approximately 320,000 plants were planted.

Greening Works Associated with Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Works

Repair of landslide scar to match with the neighbouring woodland hillside

Repair of landslide scar to match with the neighbouring woodland hillside

When implementing the slope works under the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme, we pay attention not only to the stability of the slopes but also to their appearance and ecological sustainability. To minimise the visual impact, landscape treatments are provided to all upgraded man-made slopes and engineering works on natural terrain. In pursuit of a naturalistic and environmentally conforming appearance for the upgraded slopes and engineering works on natural terrain, we provide vegetation cover wherever practicable and use hard surface cover only as the last resort on slope stability grounds and as emergency repairs. On average, we plant about 300 000 plants each year in connection with our landslip prevention and mitigation works, and over 90% of the plants are native species.

We published GEO Publication No. 1/2011 – Technical Guidelines on Landscape Treatment for Slopes to promulgate the best landscape treatment practice on slopes, natural terrain mitigation works and landslide repair works.

In order to establish robust, cost-effective, and eco-friendly vegetation covers on slopes, we pursue various research initiatives to improve the slope greening technology. Ongoing research initiatives include the following:

Based on the research results, we will publish guidelines on good practices of landscape treatment for slope works.

Greening Works for Quarry Rehabilitation

The plan to rehabilitate quarries was formulated in 1989 as an outcome of the Metroplan Landscape Strategy for Urban Fringe and Coastal Areas, which identified quarries as areas of degraded landscape requiring rehabilitation. The rehabilitation works typically involve major recontouring and extensive planting. Upon completion of the quarry rehabilitation works, attractive greened areas will be formed for a variety of uses beneficial to the community.

Under an innovative scheme developed by the Government and the quarrying industry, we completed the rehabilitation works at Lamma Quarry in end 2002, Shek O Quarry in early 2011 and Anderson Road Quarry in mid 2017 and are managing the existing quarry rehabilitation contract at Lam Tei. In the course of quarry rehabilitation, slopes are revegetated extensively with suitable vegetation with a long-term objective of creating anticipated climax vegetation communities that will blend ecologically and aesthetically with the surrounding natural vegetation and providing favourable habitats for wildlife. In 2017, we planted about 800 plants in connection with our quarry rehabilitation projects.

A view of the rehabilitated Lamma Quarry
A view of the rehabilitated Lamma Quarry
A view of the rehabilitated Shek O Quarry
A view of the rehabilitated Shek O Quarry
PrevNext

Soil Erosion Control Planting on Natural Hill Slopes

Soil Erosion Control Planting in Lam Tin Black Hill

Soil Erosion Control Planting in Lam Tin Black Hill

The programme to control soil erosion on natural hill slopes through re-vegetation stems was formulated according to the Metroplan Landscape Strategy for Urban Fringe and Coastal Areas, which identified eroded hill slopes in the urban fringe as areas of degraded landscape requiring rehabilitation. Under the soil erosion control planting programme, we establish primary vegetation covers on the eroded or erosion-prone natural hill slopes on unleased or unallocated land outside country park. The objectives are to control soil erosion and improve the ecological and landscape value of the degraded land. The planting and establishment of about 77,000 number of plants in Tuen Mun Trail and Lam Tin Black Hill were completed from 2016 to 2017.

Tree Risk Assessment and Management

Tree inspections and audits for the annual tree risk assessment and management exercise

Tree inspections and audits for the annual tree risk assessment and management exercise

To ensure public safety and for sustainable development and tree care, we conducted the annual tree risk assessment and management exercise for approximately 25,000 trees according to the guidelines promulgated by the Tree Management Office in early 2017 prior to onset of the rainy season. The tasks include conduction of tree inspections, tree risk assessments, appropriate mitigation tree works and the related tree audits.

In the planting schemes, we adopt a mixture of plant species, which includes fast-growing pioneer species to arrest any further soil erosion and native species wherever practicable to allow enhancement of biodiversity. We also continue to exchange knowledge and experience with other government departments to further enhance our effective greening works for different soil erosion situations.

Management of Construction Waste

The composition of construction waste varies, depending on the nature of the construction works. In general, about 90% of it is inert construction materials, also known as public fill, which is suitable for reuse in reclamation and earth filling works, or recycle for use in other construction works. The remaining non-inert construction waste, subject to recovery of reusable/ recyclable items, is disposed of in landfills.

In 2017, our local construction activities generated about 17.9 million tonnes of public fill, 4.6 million tonnes of which were reused and the remaining 13.3 million tonnes were stockpiled temporarily in the fill banks for reuse in the future. As at December 2017, we stockpiled about 18.2 million tonnes of public fill in the 2 temporary fill banks located in Tseung Kwan O Area 137 and Tuen Mun Area 38.

In managing this huge volume of construction waste, our objective is to promote the reduction, reuse and recycling of public fill and to prevent public fill from being disposed of in landfills, which are designed primarily for putrescible waste. Specific measures include:

To ensure proper disposal of public fill arising from local construction activities, we are operating the temporary fill banks and construction waste sorting facilities at Tseung Kwan O and Tuen Mun and the barging facilities at Chai Wan and Mui Wo.

Tseung Kwan O Area 137 Fill Bank
Tseung Kwan O Area 137 Fill Bank
Chai Wan Public Fill Barging Point
Chai Wan Public Fill Barging Point
PrevNext

Reuse of Surplus Public Fill in the Mainland

Since the reclamation projects in Hong Kong are unable to absorb all the public fill generated by local construction, excavation, renovation, demolition and road works, we are currently relying on two fill banks for temporary storage of public fill. Notwithstanding different management measures taken to reduce fill generation at source and to promote its reuse and recycling, we still face the problem of surplus public fill.

To tackle the problem, we continue to explore opportunities to reuse our surplus public fill in Mainland. We signed a Cooperation Agreement with the State Oceanic Administration (SOA) in March 2004. It provides a foundation for delivery of our public fill in Mainland waters. We further reached an agreement with the South China Sea Branch of the State Oceanic Administration (SOA(SCSB)) in June 2005 on the implementation details, including the material specifications, delivery requirements, inspection and control measures, to ensure that the use of public fill in the Mainland's reclamation projects will not cause any environmental problems.

In January 2006, SOA(SCSB) designated a trial reclamation site in Guang Hoi Wan (廣海灣) of Taishan (台山) to receive public fill from Hong Kong. Contracts were subsequently awarded for the cross-boundary delivery of surplus public fill to the reclamation site concerned. The delivery of public fill to Taishan commenced in July 2007 and about 119 million tonnes of public fill have been delivered up to May 2018.

The scheme demonstrates that the delivery of surplus public fill to the Mainland for reuse is an environmentally sound and mutually beneficial arrangement. This arrangement helps alleviate our pressure in accommodating surplus public fill and enables beneficial reuse of our public fill in the Mainland. In the absence of the scheme, the fill banks would have already been filled up and any surplus public fill would have to be disposed of in landfills, of which the capacity is fast depleting.

Conservation Work

The Government promulgated the Sustainable Lantau Blueprint (Blueprint) in June 2017, with "Development in the North; Conservation for the South" adopted as its overarching principle. The major economic and housing developments are planned in North Lantau and the East Lantau Metropolis (ELM), while Northeast Lantau will be developed into a node for leisure, entertainment and tourism. The predominant part of Lantau, in particular South Lantau, will be for conservation, leisure, cultural and eco-tourism purposes.

On conservation, we are conducting an ecological study to review the existing ecological information of South Lantau and explore appropriate conservation measures. We have also set up expert group (e.g. "Expert Group on Ecological Conservation of Pui O, Shui Hau and Tai O") for respective specific topics with a view to achieving concrete results through discussion and consolidation of experts' views. Apart from encouraging non-profit making organisations' participation in conservation projects by leveraging the funding resources, we strive to promote conservation in Lantau through community activities (e.g. ecological guided tours, workshops, roving exhibitions, etc.).

On sustainable recreation and leisure, we commenced the mountain bike trail network works in South Lantau. For better enjoyment of the natural resources in Lantau by the public and visitors, we are preparing to take forward the other projects, such as upgrading the hiking trail facilities in Lantau and the existing volley ball court at Silvermine Bay Beach in Mui Wo.

綠化

綠化工程不但可以美化環境,亦能改善空氣質素,對保護、修復、以至改善我們的景觀和生態環境非常重要,亦有助創建可持續發展的環境。土木工程拓展署在發展項目中,除了符合實用的要求外,一直以來都致力以多項措施推廣綠化,包括(1)綠化總綱圖的制訂和推行及其他綠化倡議;(2)與基建相關的綠化工程;(3)與長遠防治山泥傾瀉工程相關的綠化工程;(4)石礦場修復計劃下的綠化工程;(5)天然山坡上的保土種植工程;以及(6)樹木風險評估和管理。

綠化總綱圖一些通常建議的植物品種

綠化總綱圖一些通常建議的植物品種

制訂和推行綠化總綱圖及其他綠化倡議

綠化總綱圖種植典禮

綠化總綱圖種植典禮

綠化總綱圖的主要目的是透過研究地區的特色和需要,制訂整體的綠化大綱,並同時為規劃、設計和推行有關綠化工作提供指引。為確保對綠化總綱圖有高度的承擔,每一份綠化總綱圖都會交由綠化總綱委員會(主席為土木工程拓展署署長)審批,並由綠化、園境及樹木管理督導委員會(主席為發展局常任秘書長(工務))通過。

在制訂綠化總綱圖的過程中,我們鼓勵公眾參與,並採用「加強地區參與模式」。我們邀請了有關的區議會成立地區參與小組,一起檢討綠化總綱圖的建議,並就區內綠化工作提出意見。通過綠化總綱圖計劃,我們匯集多個範疇的專才,包括園境建築丶城市規劃丶土木及交通工程,甚至公共關係,統籌各方,克服種種挑戰。我們亦舉辦社區種植典禮和學校講座,邀請附近居民參與種植活動。我們深信公眾的參與不僅讓我們得悉有關區內情況的寶貴資料,亦可提高綠化總綱圖的認受性。公眾對我們的工程非常支持,反應亦很正面。

隨著市區綠化總綱圖工程於2011年成功地完成,我們於2014年推展綠化總綱圖工程至沙田、西貢、屯門及元朗,並於2017年完成。我們在上述4個地區共種植了約4 000棵樹及260萬叢灌木。我們正計劃在新界荃灣、葵青、離島區、大埔及北區推行綠化總綱圖。

以下是一些市區及新界綠化工程完工時的照片:

沙田源禾路中央分隔帶的綠化工程
沙田源禾路中央分隔帶的綠化工程
天水圍天華路的綠化工程
天水圍天華路的綠化工程
位於衛理道的「雨水花園」
位於衛理道的「雨水花園」
位於東涌東交匯處以「植物多樣性」為主題的種植工程
位於東涌東交匯處以「植物多樣性」為主題的種植工程
上一張相片下一張相片

昂坪環境美化工程

昂坪環境美化工程的電腦合成圖

昂坪環境美化工程的電腦合成圖

政府當局在2017年6月發表的「可持續大嶼藍圖」中提及,將大嶼山部分地區用作保育及可持續休閒康樂用途。考慮到昂坪的涼爽氣候,交通便捷,並可與現有旅遊景點及配套設施配合,得以發揮協同效應的因素,我們已在昂坪種植櫻花樹及本地春季開花的樹木,共約400多棵,供遊人在賞花季節欣賞。

我們於2018年1月展開昂坪環境美化工程,並於2018年年中完成種植工程。此外,我們已於2018年1月舉行「昂坪環境美化工程種植典禮」,為昂坪環境美化工程注入動力。

「雨水花園」及「植物多樣性」試驗計劃

為慶祝香港特別行政區成立20週年,發展局推出了「城市美化景觀計劃」來美化城市景觀並加強香港的宜居性。而當中包括一項試驗計劃,是把衛理道路旁的安全島改造成為「雨水花園」。雨水花園可幫助我們的城市吸收更多雨水,在設計上透過多層不同大小的泥粒組合,令花園的泥土吸取更多雨水。在種植設計中,我們小心選擇了可過濾雨水中部份污染物的品種,從而減輕污染物直接流入排水道及海港。而我們所栽種的植物能適應潮濕及乾旱的環境,並只需簡單的護養。土木工程拓展署與渠務署㩗手合作並於2018年2月完成「雨水花園」試驗計劃的工程,而所種植的植物將在生長季節中盛放花朶。

另一項試驗計劃位於東涌東交匯處,以加強「植物多樣性」為主題優化現有的花槽,配置多樣化及以本地植物為主的植物品種,以提升生物多樣性。我們於2017年12月完成種植工程,所種植物的生長情況良好,我們會密切監測試驗計劃的成效。

基建相關的綠化工程

中環填海計劃第三期的中西區海濱長廊(中環段)

中環填海計劃第三期的中西區海濱長廊(中環段)

我們提供所需的基礎設施的首要目的是滿足市民對安全、健康和生活質素日益增加的要求。為此,我們的基建工程大部分都加入大規模的種植計劃,作為景觀/生態的改善及緩解措施。綠化工程涉及不同的環境,包括道路兩旁、行人和行車天橋、平台、斜坡、河道與海濱走廊等。

附設大規模種植工程的大型基建項目包括安達臣道發展及啟德發展計劃-啟德機場北面停機坪第3A及第4期基礎建設工程。在2017年,這些項目合共種植了約32萬棵植物。

長遠防治山泥傾瀉工程相關的綠化工程

配合鄰近天然山坡地貌修復山泥傾瀉痕跡

配合鄰近天然山坡地貌修復山泥傾瀉痕跡

推展「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」下的斜坡工程時,我們不僅重視斜坡的穩固性,亦注意斜坡的外觀和生態方面的可持續性。為了減低斜坡的視覺影響,我們會美化所有鞏固後的人造斜坡和位於天然山坡上的建構物。在力求斜坡及建構物外觀自然並與周圍環境配合的前提下,我們會盡量採用植被護面,只有在斜坡穩固性不足或需要緊急維修時,才使用硬性護面。我們平均每年在長遠防治山泥傾瀉工程中所栽種的植物約有30萬棵,當中超過9成為本土品種的植物。

土力工程處已出版了刊物第1/2011號《斜坡的環境美化技術指南》,載列最佳作業模式指引,適用於人造斜坡、天然山坡防治工程和山泥傾瀉應急工程的園景美化措施。

為了提供生長穩定、符合經濟效益、及與生態環境協調的斜坡植被,我們積極進行研究,以改善斜坡綠化技術。在這方面,現正在進行的研究包括:

我們會根據研究結果,就斜坡的美化工程技術,出版良好作業模式指引。

石礦場修復計劃下的綠化工程

在1989年制定的石礦場修復計劃,是按照「都會計劃近郊及沿岸地區景觀發展策略」進行。該策略確定石礦場為景觀破落區,需要進行修復工程。工程包括地形重整和大規模的種植。當石礦場修復工程完成後,宜人的綠化區將會適合作多種用途,惠及社群。

根據政府和採石業界構思的創意計劃,我們已於2002年年底、2011年年初和2017年年中,分別完成了南丫島石礦場、石澳石礦場和安達臣道石礦場的修復工程,並且正在管理藍地現有石礦場的修復工程合約。在石礦場的修復過程中,我們會選用合適的植物,大規模地為斜坡重新種植,希望最終能建立一個符合理想的頂級植物群落,與周圍的天然植物在生態和景觀上融為一體,為野生動物提供良好的棲息地。在2017年,我們在石礦場修復計劃下所栽種的植物約有800棵。

已修復的南丫島石礦場一景
已修復的南丫島石礦場一景
已修復的石澳石礦場一景
已修復的石澳石礦場一景
上一張相片下一張相片

天然山坡的保土種植工程

五桂山天然山坡的保土種植工程

五桂山天然山坡的保土種植工程

在天然山坡上進行的保土種稙工程,同樣是根據「都會計劃近郊及沿岸地區景觀發展策略」推行。該策略確定近郊受土蝕影響的山坡為景觀破落區,需要進行修復。在保土種植計劃下,我們會在郊野公園以外、未批租或未被撥用的土地上,為已受土蝕或有土蝕危機的天然山坡建立初級植被,目的是要控制土蝕和提升山坡劣地的生態和景觀價值。我們已於2016至2017年完成於屯門及藍田的種植及護養工作,為屯門徑及五桂山種植約7萬7千棵植物。

樹木風險評估和管理

年度樹木風險評估和管理中的樹木檢查和審核

年度樹木風險評估和管理中的樹木檢查和審核

為確保公眾安全及可持續發展的樹木保育,本署遵從樹木管理辦事處的指引,進行年度的樹木風險評估。在2017年年初雨季來臨之先,我們已為本署各工地內的約2萬5千棵樹木進行樹木檢查、樹木風險評估、合適的風險緩解措施和相關的審核。

在種植計劃內,我們採用混合式的植物品種組合,包括有助控制土蝕而引進的速生先鋒品種及在合適情況下加入的一些本地植物,藉此增加生物多樣性。我們亦會繼續和其他政府部門交換知識和經驗,以進一步提升我們在不同土蝕情況下的綠化工作成效。

管理建築廢物

建築廢物的成分不一,要視乎建造工程的性質而定,當中約有9成是惰性物料(即公眾填料),適合再用於填海和填土工程,或經循環再造後,用於日後的建造工程。至於非惰性廢料,其中部分可以再用/循環再造,餘下的只可棄置於堆填區。.

在2017年,本地的建造工程產生超約1 790萬公噸的公眾填料,其中約460萬公噸被再用,餘下的1 330萬公噸則被暫時貯存於填料庫以供日後使用。截至2017年12月,我們在兩個分別位於將軍澳137區和屯門38區的臨時填料庫貯存了約1820萬公噸公眾填料。

在管理這極大量建築廢物之時,我們的目標是提倡減量、再用和循環再造公眾填料,以及避免公眾填料被棄置於為可分解廢物而設的堆填區內。具體的措施包括:

為確保妥善處置本地建造工程所產生的公眾填料,我們會繼續營運位於將軍澳及屯門的臨時填料庫和建築廢物篩選分類設施,以及柴灣和梅窩的躉船轉運設施。

將軍澳第137區填料庫
將軍澳第137區填料庫
柴灣躉船轉運設施
柴灣躉船轉運設施
上一張相片下一張相片

剩餘公眾填料再用於內地

由於近年本港填海工程未能完全吸納從本地建築、挖掘、裝修、拆卸及道路工程中產生的公眾填料,需要依賴兩個填料庫作臨時貯存。儘管我們已採取管理措施,減少在源頭產生公眾填料,以及推動這些物料的再用及循環再造,我們仍須面對剩餘公眾填料的問題。

為解決上述問題,我們不斷探討把剩餘的公眾填料運往內地再用的機會。我們與國家海洋局於2004年3月簽署《香港廢棄物跨區傾倒管理工作合作安排》,使本港的公眾填料可運往內地水域處理,並於2005年6月,與國家海洋局南海分局就推行細節達成協議,包括物料規格、運送規定、檢查和管制措施,確保該等公眾填料用於內地填海工程項目時,不會制造環境問題。

於2006年1月,國家海洋局南海分局選定台山廣海灣一個填海工地作為試點接收本港的公眾填料。我們其後批出相關的合約,把剩餘的公眾填料跨境運往有關的填海工地。物料於2007年7月開始付運,直至2018年5月,我們已將約1億1 900萬公噸的公眾填料運往台山。

該計劃顯示,把公眾填料運往內地再用是一項有利環境和互惠雙贏的安排。這項安排既減輕了我們處理剩餘公眾填料的壓力,亦使我們的剩餘公眾填料得以於內地妥善再用。假若沒有該計劃,我們的臨時填料庫早已飽和,而所有剩餘公眾填料須被棄置在容量正急速耗盡的堆填區。

保育工作

我們堅定秉承「北發展、南保育」的規劃原則,在推展基建及發展項目的同時貫徹「先保育,後發展」的方針。我們正就放立10億元的「大嶼山保育基金」進行準備工作,以推動大嶼山鄉郊地區的保育工作, 以及改善鄉郊環境。

我們正透過進行生態研究檢視南大嶼的自然生態及探討合適的保育措施。我們亦就個別專項範疇成立專家小組(例如「保育貝澳、水口及大澳」專家小組),結合專家意見,就大嶼山不同的範疇探討切實可行的方案。除了藉基金資源鼓勵非牟利團體參與推動保育工作外,我們亦致力透過社區活動(例如舉辦生態導賞、工作坊、巡迴展覽等)推廣大嶼山保育。

在可持續休閒和康樂方面,我們已擬訂大澳休閒康樂圖,提供不同的路線,帶領遊人到大澳市中心以外地方,更深入地體驗大澳。我們計劃在2020年初開展大嶼山遠足徑和康樂計劃的研究,改善遠足徑網絡以連結文物、生態和康樂熱點,並提供多元化休閒體驗。我們預計於2019年大致完成擴建梅窩和芝麻灣的越野單車徑網絡,以及在梅窩建造練習場的工程。