CEDD - Cavern Master Plan
Home > Topics in Focus > Cavern Master Plan

Cavern Master Plan

Cavern Master Plan
Background

Creating new land is essential to the development of Hong Kong in the long term, and cavern development is one of the viable options under the multi-pronged strategy to increase land supply. The hilly terrain with strong rocks in Hong Kong is highly suitable for developing rock caverns, particularly in the urban fringe. There is proven local experience in cavern construction as demonstrated by various existing facilities built in Hong Kong. Enhancing the systematic use of rock caverns can offer new opportunities for Hong Kong's long-term planning and development, supplementing other short- and medium-term land development approaches.

The “Long-term Strategy for Cavern Development – Feasibility Study” completed by the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) in conjunction with Planning Department (PlanD) has recommended, among others, the formulation of a strategic territory-wide Cavern Master Plan, as a holistic approach in planning and implementing cavern development and taking forward this innovative means of enhancing land supply.

User of the Cavern Master Plan

Any project proponent when planning/studying cavern development or identifying suitable site for developing cavern can make reference to the Cavern Master Plan.

Click here to download section

Cavern Master Plan

The Cavern Master Plan (CMP) is a planning tool providing a broad strategic planning framework to guide and facilitate territory-wide cavern development in Hong Kong. The CMP, serving as user guidelines, is neither a statutory plan nor a development blueprint.

The CMP delineates Strategic Cavern Areas (SCVAs) that are suitable for cavern development in terms of geological considerations and the current planning perspectives. It aims to make known these SCVAs and their essential information to project proponents such that they can identify suitable cavern sites for their projects. The CMP is accompanied by an Explanatory Statement and a set of Information Notes.

Explanatory Statement
The Explanatory Statement provides the key information on the CMP. It sets out the objectives of the CMP, outlines the rationale and methodology of delineating SCVAs, and highlights key issues for implementation.

Strategic Cavern Areas
The CMP delineates forty eight (48) SCVAs, of which 11 are on Hong Kong Island, 5 in Kowloon and 32 in the New Territories (including 7 on Lantau Island). The sizes of individual SCVAs range from approximately 30 to 200 hectares. The area of SCVAs does not represent the actual developable cavern footprint because provisions have to be made for buffer zones between individual facilities, intervening rock pillars for support and adits for portal access and inter-connection, etc.

Information Note
For each SCVA, an Information Note is provided to describe the characteristics, development potential as well as constraints of the area. It includes details of the geological, planning, environmental and traffic characteristics and other key issues/constraints on cavern development. The Information Note also outlines the potential land uses and the extent of potential portal locations. A Reference Drawing is appended to each Information Note to illustrate the spatial context of the information provided.

The CMP, Explanatory Statement and Information Notes collectively serve to fulfil the objectives of facilitating territory-wide cavern development and promulgating essential information for project proponents both in the public and private sectors to identify suitable cavern sites for their development projects. The CMP will be updated by the CEDD and PlanD as necessary, taking account of changing circumstances.

Any cavern development project, no matter within or outside the SCVAs, should be assessed with individual merits, with due regard to development need and technical feasibility, and also in compliance with relevant administrative and regulatory requirements.

Download

Please click the following link to download the Cavern Master Plan and its Explanatory Statement.
Click here to view the reports

Please click the individual Strategic Cavern Area on the figure or in the table below to download the respective Information Note and Reference Drawing.


Related Information:

Project proponents can also make reference to the relevant documents or websites as listed below when pursuing cavern development projects.

1. Development Bureau Technical Circular (Works) No. 8/2017 on Rock Cavern Development
(http://www.devb.gov.hk/TechnicalCirculars.aspx?section=53&lang=1)
2. Hong Kong Planning Standards and Guidelines, Planning Department
(http://www.pland.gov.hk/pland_en/tech_doc/hkpsg/full/index.htm)
3. Long-term Strategy for Cavern Development website
(http://www.cavern.gov.hk/index1.htm)

Contact Information

For enquiry, please contact the Geotechnical Engineering Office of the Civil Engineering and Development Department or the Planning Department:

Planning Division
Geotechnical Engineering Office
Civil Engineering and Development Department
11/F, Civil Engineering and Development Building
101 Princess Margaret Road
Homantin, Kowloon
Hong Kong

Technical Services Section
Planning Department
17/F, North Point Government Offices
333 Java Road
Hong Kong

Or by e-mail: cavern@cedd.gov.hk

主页 > 专题事项 > 岩洞总纲图

岩洞总纲图

岩洞总纲图
背景

提供新的土地供应,对香港的长远发展相当重要。发展岩洞是增加土地供应的多管齐下的策略之一。香港山多而陡,岩石坚固,沿市区边缘的山地特别适合发展岩洞。现时香港已有不同种类的岩洞设施,在建造岩洞方面不乏经验。更有系统地善用岩洞,可为香港的长远规划和发展带来新机遇,并可补充其他短、中期增加土地发展的措施。

土木工程拓展署联同规划署完成的「岩洞发展长远策略-可行性研究」,建议包括制定具策略性的全港性岩洞总纲图等措施,以成为岩洞发展规划和推展的全面策略,并藉以利用此创新方法增加土地供应。

《岩洞总纲图》的使用者

任何项目倡议人在规划/研究岩洞发展或在物色合适位置发展岩洞时可参阅岩洞总纲图。

[点击以直接前往资料下载区]

《岩洞总纲图》

《岩洞总纲图》是一项规划工具,提供概括的策略性规划大纲,以导引并促进全港的岩洞发展。《岩洞总纲图》是使用者指引,并不是法定图则,也不是发展的蓝图。

《岩洞总纲图》上划定的策略性岩洞区,在地质条件及规划考虑上都适合发展岩洞。《岩洞总纲图》旨在为项目倡议人提供策略性岩洞区的重要资料,以物色合适的岩洞用地作发展之用。《岩洞总纲图》随附相关的《说明书》和《注释》。

《说明书》
《说明书》旨在提供《岩洞总纲图》的主要资料。它说明《岩洞总纲图》的目标,阐述划定策略性岩洞区界线的基本原则和方法,并扼要地说明实施岩洞项目时所须注意的重要事宜。

策略性岩洞区
《岩洞总纲图》划定了48个策略性岩洞区,其中11个位于香港岛、5个位于九龙及32个位于新界(当中7个位于大屿山),个别策略性岩洞区的面积大约由30公顷至200公顷不等。策略性岩洞区的面积并不代表实质可发展的岩洞面积,因为发展岩洞须预留地方作其他用途,包括用作分隔设施的缓冲区、支撑岩洞的间隔石柱和连接入口和其他通道的隧道等。

《注释》
每个策略性岩洞区有一份《注释》载列该区的特点、发展潜力和限制,当中阐述包括地质、规划、环境及交通等各方面考虑,以及岩洞发展的其他重要事宜或限制。《注释》亦概述当区发展岩洞潜在的土地用途及岩洞入口位置范围。《注释》随附参考绘图,提供各个策略性岩洞区的地区资料。

《岩洞总纲图》与其《说明书》和《注释》旨在达到促进全港性的岩洞发展的目标,为政府或私人项目倡议人提供重点资讯,以协助物色合适位置作岩洞发展。土木工程拓展署和规划署会按需要检视《岩洞总纲图》,并因应情况进行适当的修订。

岩洞发展项目,不论是否在策略性岩洞区内,均须进行个别评估,考虑其发展的需要和技术可行性,并须符合有关的行政和监管要求。

资料下载

请点击以下连结,下载《岩洞总纲图》及《说明书》
按此查阅项目报告

请点击下图或下表的策略性岩洞区,以下载其《注释》及参考绘图:

相关资料

项目倡议人在推展岩洞发展项目时,也可参考以下列出的相关文件或网页:

1. 发展局工务技术通告第8/2017号Development Bureau Technical Circular (Works) No. 8/2017 on Rock Cavern Development
(http://www.devb.gov.hk/TechnicalCirculars.aspx?section=53&lang=1 )
2. 规划署的《香港规划标准与准则》
(http://www.pland.gov.hk/pland_tc/tech_doc/hkpsg/full/index.htm)
3. 「岩洞发展长远策略」网站
(http://www.cavern.gov.hk/index1.htm)

联络资讯

如有查询,请与土木工程拓展署辖下土力工程处或规划署联络∶

香港
九龙何文田
公主道101号土木工程拓展署大楼11楼
土木工程拓展署
土力工程处
规划部

香港
渣华道333号北角政府合署17楼
规划署
专业事务组

或电邮至∶cavern@cedd.gov.hk