Home > Public Services > Explosives, Blasting and Quarries > Frequently Asked Questions

Public Services

Frequently Asked Questions
Please select from the following FAQs

 

Category 1 Dangerous Goods FAQs

Q1: What are explosives or Category 1 Dangerous Goods?

A1: Explosives (i.e. Category 1 Dangerous Goods under Dangerous Goods (Application and Exemption) Regulations, Cap. 295A) are substances or articles manufactured with a view to producing a practical effect by explosion.

Use of Explosives FAQs

Q2: What are the licences and permits required for using explosives in rock excavation?

A2: The contractor of the project must obtain a valid “Licence to Possess Category 1 Dangerous Goods” and a valid “Permit to Use Category 1 Dangerous Goods” before using explosives in rock excavation. The licence and permit will be issued within 3 working days after the contractor has completed all pre-licensing requirements.

For further information, please see : How to apply for a blasting Permit.


Q3: Who can use explosives for blasting work?

A3: Only a person who holds a valid Mine Blasting Certificate issued under Regulation 22, Mines (Safety) Regulations, Cap 285B, or authorized under Regulation 47, Dangerous Goods (General) Regulations, Cap 295B, is allowed by law to prepare or discharge any charges, charge any hole with explosives or conduct any blasting operations.

For further information, please see : Mine Blasting Certificate and Authorization to Use Explosives.


Storage of Explosives FAQs

Q4: How can I apply for a licence to store blasting explosives on site? How long will it take?

A4: For storage of blasting explosives for rock excavation, the applicant should identify a suitable location for a Mode A store (explosives site magazine) to suit his blasting operations.  It should have an adequate safety separation distance from buildings and facilities.  Once a suitable location is identified, the applicant should submit an application letter with supporting information and documents to Mines Division, Geotechnical Engineering Office, Civil Engineering and Development Department for processing.  With input from the Hong Kong Police and, if necessary, the Fire Services Department, pre-licensing requirements for the construction and security of the explosives magazines will be set out for the applicant to comply with.  The licence for an explosives store will be issued within 3 working days after constructing the explosives store, complying with the pre-licensing requirements and any other requirements imposed by other Government departments or regulatory authorities, e.g. the Environmental Protection Department.

For further information, please see : How to apply for a Mode A Store Licence for Storage of Blasting Explosives.


Q5: How can I find out the requirements for licensing a Mode B store?

A5: The explosives to be stored in a Mode B store must be approved for use in Hong Kong.  Where several types of explosives are to be stored in the same Mode B store, the applicant must demonstrate that they can be stored safely together.  In addition, Mines Division, the Hong Kong Police Force and the Fire Services Department may impose other safety, security and fire fighting requirements with respect to the location and construction of a Mode B store.

For further information, please see : Licensing and Operation of Mode B Store.


Conveyance of Explosives FAQs

Q6: Who can apply for a Removal Permit to convey (transport) blasting explosives?

A6: A contractor holding a valid “Category 1 Dangerous Goods Licence’ and a ‘Permit to Use Category 1 Dangerous Goods’ can apply for a Removal Permit, as required under DGO, to convey by road blasting explosives.  The contractor also needs to obtain a Removal Permit if he requires Mines Division to deliver explosives to a blast site or a licensed temporary explosives magazine.  The application should be made using a prescribed form and submitted to Mines Division for processing.

For further information, please see : MDPN1 Delivery of Blasting Explosives and Related Safety and Security Procedures.


Q7: Can a delivery courier apply for a Removal Permit on behalf of his client?

A7: No.  The applicant for a Removal Permit must be the owner of the explosives products or his representative who must understand the hazard inherent in the type of dangerous goods being conveyed and the procedures to be followed in case of an accident or an emergency.

For further information, please see : Application and Handling of a Removal Permit For a Mode B Store Licenses.


Q8: Do I need a Removal Permit to cover the movement of explosives within the restricted area of Chek Lap Kok International Airport?

A8: Yes.  Removal Permits are required to cover the movement, including transhipment, of explosives on the ground within the Chek Lap Kok Airport.


Q9: Can one Removal Permit cover the conveyance of explosives involving several destinations on the same route?

A9: No. Each Removal Permit covers the conveyance of explosives from one location to another location via a designated route. If explosives are moved from one location to several other destinations, a Removal Permit must be obtained for each destination even if the same delivery vehicle is used, the locations are on the same delivery route or adjacent to each other.


Q10: Can I make use of the vehicular tunnels, e.g. Lion Rock Tunnel or the cross-harbour tunnels to transport explosives?

A10: No.  Vehicles carrying explosives (Category 1 Dangerous Goods) are not permitted under the law to use any vehicular tunnels, including the cross-harbour tunnels.  There is a dangerous goods vehicular ferry service available for the transport of explosives to Hong Kong Island.


Fireworks and Pyrotechnics FAQs

Q11: Does the licence to possess Category 1 Dangerous Goods and the permit to use Category 1 Dangerous Goods issued by the Commissioner of Mines cover fireworks display?

A11: No.  Fireworks displays are regulated under Regulation 59 of the Dangerous Goods (General) Regulations, Cap 295B.  The Secretary for Home Affairs and Director of Marine are the regulatory authorities for the discharge of fireworks on land and at sea, respectively.


Q12: Do I need a licence to possess/use Category 1 Dangerous Goods issued by the Commissioner of Mines to discharge pyrotechnic materials for a film shoot or a theatrical performance?

A12: No. The Entertainment Special Effects Ordinance (ESEO), Cap 560, regulates the discharge of pyrotechnic special effects materials for a film shoot, a theatrical performance or a pyrotechnics show. The ESEO is under the jurisdiction of the Films Services Office of Create Hong Kong (CreateHK).

For further information, please visit theCreate HK Office's website, URL http://www.createhk.gov.hk/en/home.htm



Import and Export of Fireworks and Explosives FAQs

Q13: How can I import new commercial explosives products into Hong Kong for local use?

A13: New commercial explosives products must be approved for use before being imported into Hong Kong. To obtain such approval, you are required to complete the "Application Form for Approval of Non-blasting Explosives for Use in Hong Kong" or "Application Form for Approval of Blasting Explosives for Use in Hong Kong” and submit it together with the necessary supporting documents to Mines Division, Civil Engineering and Development Department, for consideration.

For further information, please see :
(a) Approval of Non-blasting Explosives for Use in Hong Kong or
(b) Approval of Blasting Explosives for Use in Hong Kong.


Enquiries FAQs

Q14: Where can I get more information on licences and permits issued under the Dangerous Goods Ordinance, Cap 295?

A14: Additional information on specific topics, such as Mine Blasting Certificates and the use, manufacture, storage and transport of explosives can be obtained from:

Chief Geotechnical Engineer/Mines
Mines Division,
25/F., Kwun Tong View,
410 Kwun Tong Road, Kowloon

or from the CEDD web site: http://www.cedd.gov.hk.

Further enquires can also be made by telephone, No. 2716 8666, fax, No. 2714 0193 or email: mines@cedd.gov.hk.

公共服務

常見問題
請選擇以下查詢


第一類危險品常見問題

問1 : 何謂爆炸品或第一類危險品﹖

答1 : 爆炸品(即根據《危險品(適用及豁免)規例》(香港法例第295A章)訂明的第一類危險品)包括任何為藉爆炸而產生實際效果而製造的任何物質或物品。



使用爆炸品常見問題

問2 : 使用爆炸品作岩石開採須要甚麼牌照及許可證﹖

答2 : 工程承辦商在使用爆炸品作岩石開採前,必須取得有效的「第一類危險品管有牌照」及有效的「第一類危險品使用許可證」。有關的牌照及許可證會在承辦商符合所有領牌前規定後的三個工作天內簽發。


如欲取得更多資料,請參閱本署小冊子:《申請燃爆許可證指引》。

問3 : 誰可使用爆炸品作爆破用途﹖

答3 : 法例只容許持有根據《礦場(安全)規例》(香港法例第285B章)第22條簽發的有效礦場燃爆證書的人士或根據《危險品(一般)規例》(香港法例第295B章)第47條獲授權的人士,才可以裝置或引爆任何炸藥、把炸藥填入炮孔或進行任何爆破工作。


如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱本署小冊子:《礦場燃爆證書和使用爆炸品授權書


貯存爆炸品常見問題

問4 : 如何申請在工地貯存爆破炸藥的牌照﹖申請需時多久﹖

答4 : 如要貯存開墾岩石的爆破炸藥,申請人應尋找一處合適地點,作爆炸品甲類貯存所(工地爆炸品倉),以配合爆破工作。貯存所須與其他建築物及設施有足夠的安全距離。申請人在覓得合適地點後,須把申請信,連同證明文件及資料,提交土木工程拓展署土力工程處礦務部審核。當局在考慮過香港警務處及消防處(如有必要)的意見後,便會就工地爆炸品倉的建造及安全方面,訂明申請人必須履行的領牌前規定。申請人如妥善履行領牌前規定,包括所有其它有關政府部門或監管機關(如環境保護署)的規定,並建造爆炸品貯存所,當局會在其後的三個工作天內,就該爆炸品貯存所簽發貯存所牌照。


如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱本署小冊子:《貯存爆破用爆炸品甲類貯存所牌照申請指引

問5 : 如何得知乙類貯存所的發牌規定﹖

答5 : 凡在本港乙類貯存所貯存的爆炸品,必須先獲得礦務處處長批准,符合可在香港使用的爆炸品類別。當使用同一個乙類貯存所貯存多個類別的爆炸品時,申請人必須提供證明,以示該等不同類別的爆炸品可以安全地一同貯存。此外,礦務部、香港警務處及消防處或會就乙類貯存所的地點及建造詳情,各自訂立其他安全、保安及消防規定。


如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱 《乙類貯存所的發牌及運作指引


運送爆炸品常見問題

問6 : 誰可申請「移走許可證」以 運送(運輸)爆破用爆炸品﹖

答6 : 只限持有有效的「第一類危險品牌照」及「使用第一類危險品許可證」的承辦商,才可根據《危險品條例》申請「移走許可證」在陸上運送爆破用爆炸品。倘若承辦商欲經礦務部將爆破用爆炸品運送至爆破工地或直接由許可的臨時爆炸品貯存庫運送至爆破工地,承辦商亦需向礦務部申請「移走許可證」 。申請須以規定表格提交礦務部處理。


如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱《礦務部實務守則第1號—運送爆炸品及有關安全與保安程序》。


問7 : 速遞公司是否可以代表顧客申請“移走許可證”﹖

答7 : 不可以。「移走許可證」的申請人,必須是爆炸品的擁有人或其代表,他們必須了解所運送的危險品種類的潛在危害,以及發生意外或緊急事故時的應變程序。

如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱本署小冊子:《乙類貯存所牌照持有人申請及處理”移走許可證”指引》。


問8 : 在赤鱲角國際機場禁區搬運爆炸品是否必須持有“移走許可證”﹖

答8 : 是。如要搬運任何送抵赤鱲角機場地面的爆炸品,包括轉運,均須持有“移走許可證”。


問9 : 是否可以憑一張「移走許可證」,在同一條路線上搬運爆炸品往多個不同目的地﹖

答9 : 不可以。每張“移走許可證”只准許循指明路線把爆炸品由一個地點搬運至另一個地點。如果把爆炸品由一個地點搬運至多個地點,即使只使用同一部車輛運送,而目的地又位於同一條路線上或在相鄰的位置,亦須就每一個運送地點申請一張獨立「移走許可證」。


問10 : 是否可以使用行車隧道,例如:使用獅子山隧道或海底隧道運送爆炸品﹖

答10 : 不可以。在香港,法例禁止任何載有爆炸品(第一類危險品)的車輛使用行車隧道,包括海底隧道。現行有專用的爆炸品汽車渡輪服務可運送爆炸品到香港島。


爆竹煙花和煙火物品常見問題

問11 : 「管有第一類危險品牌照」及「使用第一類危險品許可證」的許可範圍是否包括煙花匯演﹖

答11 : 不包括。煙花匯演乃受《危險品(一般)規例》(香港法例第295B章)第59條規管。陸上燃放煙花是由民政事務局局長管制的,而在海上燃放煙花則受海事處處長的管制。


問12 : 如要燃放煙火物料作拍攝電影或演出舞台劇之用,是否須要領取由礦務處處長簽發的牌照,以管有/使用第一類危險品﹖

答12 : 不須要。《娛樂特別效果條例》(香港法例第560章)規管燃放煙火特別效果物料以拍攝電影、演出舞台劇或進行煙火表演。《娛樂特別效果條例》屬商務及經濟發展局其下創意香港辦公室電影服務(創意香港) 統籌科執行管制工作的範圍。


如欲知悉更多資料,請瀏覽創意香港辦公室網頁URL http://www.createhk.gov.hk/tc/home.htm


輸入商用爆炸品常見問題

問13 : 如何輸入新的商用爆炸品到香港供本地使用﹖

答13 : 輸入新的商用爆炸品到香港使用以前,必須先得到批准。申請人必須填妥「申請在香港使用非爆破用爆炸品」或「申請在香港使用爆破用爆炸品」表格,並連同必需的證明文件,提交土木工程拓展署礦務部審批。


如欲知悉更多資料,請參閱本署小冊子:
(a) 《核准可在香港使用非爆破用途爆炸品的審批指引》 或
(b) 《核准可在香港使用爆破用途爆炸品的審批指引》。


查詢

問14 : 在那裏可以取得更多關於根據《危險品條例》(香港法例第295章)簽發牌照和許可證的資料﹖

答14 : 如欲知悉一些個別專題,例如礦場燃爆證書,以及爆炸品的使用、製造、貯存及運輸等的額外資料,可向本署礦務部總土力工程師/礦務(地址:九龍觀塘道410號觀點中心25樓)索取或瀏覽網址:http://www.cedd.gov.hk

如欲進一步查詢,可電:2716 8666,傳真:2714 0193或電郵:mines@cedd.gov.hk