Public Services

FAQ
  1. How do I know if my slope is up to the required safety standard?

  2. What are the signs of landslide danger on a slope or retaining wall before it collapses?

  3. What should I do if I see a landslide or there are signs of landslide danger in a slope?

  4. Where can I obtain a list of substandard government slopes?

  5. How many man-made slopes are there in Hong Kong and who is responsible for their maintenance?

  6. How does the GEO help the public to know more about slope information?

  7. Where can I obtain advice regarding slope safety issues?

  8. How does the Slope Safety System of the GEO deal with the landslide problem in Hong Kong?

  9. What emergency service does the GEO provide on slope safety?

  10. What has the GEO done to reduce the visual impact of slopes in the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP)?

  11. What has the GEO achieved in reducing the landslide risk in Hong Kong?

Q1 :    How do I know if my slope is up to the required safety standard?

A1 :    To determine whether a slope or retaining wall meets the required standard, the owner should arrange for a Stability Assessment to be carried out by a professionally-qualified geotechnical engineer if such an assessment has not previously been done.  A Stability Assessment should also be carried out if significant modifications have occurred to the slope or retaining wall or to any adjacent areas, or if there is a reason to believe that significant deterioration of the slope or retaining wall has occurred since a Stability Assessment was undertaken.  A professionally-qualified geotechnical engineer may have to be consulted in deciding whether significant deterioration has occurred.
 
Q2 :    What are the signs of landslide danger on a slope or retaining wall before it collapses?  

A2 :    Some typical signs of landslide danger are listed in the pamphlet "How to protect your family and yourself when the Landslip Warning is in force." or from the Hong Kong Slope Safety Website at http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/.
 
Q3 :    What should I do if I see a landslide or there are signs of landslide danger in a slope? 

A3 :   
  • Keep away from these slopes and retaining walls

  • Report immediately any signs of danger to the police

  • Notify the owner or property manager


Q4 :    Where can I obtain a list of substandard government slopes?

A4 :    The list of substandard Government slopes being upgraded or pending upgrading could be obtained through the Hong Kong Slope Safety Website at http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/.
 
Q5 :    How many man-made slopes are there in Hong Kong and who is responsible for their maintenance?   

A5 :    There are about 60,000 sizeable man-made slopes in Hong Kong registered in the Catalogue of Slopes, comprising:

  • About 21,000 post-1977 slopes which should have been designed and built to the current safety standards;

  • About 39,000 pre-1977 slopes, many of which may not meet the current safety standards and may have deteriorated due to lack of maintenance.
or, in terms of ownership:
  • About 40,000 Government slopes; and

  • About 20,000 private slopes.
Private owners are responsible for maintaining their slopes.  This responsibility covers slopes within the private lot, plus slopes and adjoining land formed as part of the development and other areas specified in the lease or other land title documents.  Government departments are responsible for maintenance of Government slopes.
 
Q6 :    How does the GEO help the public to know more about slope information?

A6 :    The GEO has set up a computerized Slope Information System (SIS).  Information on all registered man-made slopes in Hong Kong, including digital maps and images, can be accessed via a computer terminal connected to the System located at the Slope Safety Division of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (address : 7/F, Civil Engineering and Development Building, 101 Princess Margaret Road, Homantin, Kowloon).  Internet version of the SIS is available in the Hong Kong Slope Safety (HKSS) Website.  The public can access the SIS from a PC by visiting the HKSS website at http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/
 
Q7 :    Where can I obtain advice regarding slope safety issues?

A7 :    As part of the Government's continuous efforts to enhance public understanding of slope safety and to reinforce private owners' awareness of their slope maintenance responsibility, the GEO has set up a Community Advisory Unit (CAU) to provide advisory and information services to the general public on matters relating to slope safety and slope maintenance works.  The CAU can be contacted at telephone number 2760 5800 or by electronic mail at cau@cedd.gov.hk.
 
Q8 :    How does the Slope Safety System of the GEO deal with the landslide problem in Hong Kong?

A8 :    The GEO has formulated a strategy to meeting Hong Kong’s needs for the highest standards of slope safety and to enhancing the appearance of slopes. The main components of this strategy are:

  • Improve slope safety standards, technology, and administrative and regulatory frameworks

  • Ensure safety standards of new slopes

  • Rectify substandard Government slopes and implement landslide risk mitigation measures to natural hillside catchments with known hazards to buildings and major transport corridors

  • Maintain all Government man-made slopes

  • Ensure that owners take responsibility for slope safety

  • Promote public awareness and response in slope safety through public education, publicity, information services and public warnings

  • Enhance slope appearance and aesthetics in the formation of new Government slopes and upgrading of existing Government slopes
 
Q9 :    What emergency service does the GEO provide on slope safety?   

A9 :    The GEO maintains a 24-hour service to provide geotechnical advice to Government departments on any emergency actions to be taken in case of danger arising from landslips.  The primary objective of the emergency service is to protect the general public from landslide hazards.

 
Q10 :    What has the GEO done to reduce the visual impact of slopes in the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP)?

A10 : The GEO is very concerned about the aesthetic aspects of our slope upgrading works in the LPMitP.  GEO is committed to landscaping all the slopes upgraded under the LPMitP and providing vegetation cover to as many slopes as practicable.  We also identify and preserve existing mature trees on slopes wherever practicable.  Professional landscape input is provided as an integral part of the design of the LPMit works.  In practice, our designers try to make the finished slopes look as natural as possible in order to reduce their visual impact and improve the environment.  Where the use of a hard surface cover is unavoidable on slope safety grounds, landscaping measures are taken to minimize its visual impact, such as by retaining existing trees, providing planter boxes along the slope toe and planting holes on the slope surface, and using decorative artwork, stone facings and surface colour treatment.

 
Q11 :    What has the GEO achieved in reducing the landslide risk in Hong Kong?

A11 : The GEO manages a Slope Safety System since its establishment in 1977. The effectiveness of the System is indicated by the declining casualty rate, which shows that landslide danger in Hong Kong has been substantially reduced since 1977.  We have successfully reduced the overall landslide risk arising from man-made slopes to less than 25% of the 1977 level.  However, there is no room for complacency about landslide risk and the Government will continue to strive to further reduce risk in partnership with the community.

公共服務

常見問題
  1. 如何得知斜坡是否符合安全標準?

  2. 斜坡或擋土牆在崩塌前有何跡象?

  3. 若目睹山泥傾瀉或發現斜坡有山泥傾瀉危險跡象,應該怎樣做?

  4. 我可以在哪裏取得不合標準政府斜坡的名單?

  5. 香港共有多少人造斜坡?這些斜坡由誰負責維修?

  6. 土力工程處怎樣令公眾可以更方便有效地獲悉斜坡資料?

  7. 我可以在哪裏獲得有關斜坡安全事宜的意見或協助?

  8. 土力工程處的斜坡安全系統怎樣處理本港的山泥傾瀉問題?

  9. 土力工程處在斜坡安全方面提供什麼緊急服務?

  10. 土力工程處怎樣在長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃下減低斜坡的視覺影響?

  11. 在減低香港山泥傾瀉風險的問題上,土力工程處取得甚麼成果?


問1:    如何得知斜坡是否符合安全標準?

答1:   如想確定斜坡或擋土牆是否達到所需標準,而有關斜坡或擋土牆以往又從未經過評估,業主應安排具專業資格的岩土工程師進行穩定性評估。如有關斜坡或擋土牆或其毗鄰地方曾進行過重大改動,又或有理由相信該斜坡或擋土牆自上次接受穩定性評估後的狀況顯著變壞,則有需要再進行穩定性評估。要確定斜坡或擋土牆的狀況是否顯著變壞,請徵詢具專業資格的土力工程師的意見。

 
問2:    斜坡或擋土牆在崩塌前有何跡象?

答2:   在《山泥傾瀉警報生效期間應怎樣保護家人和自己》這本小冊子內,載錄了山泥傾瀉危險發生前的若干典型跡象。 市民亦可在香港斜坡安全網頁 (http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/)閱覽相關的資訊。

 
問3:    若目睹山泥傾瀉或發現斜坡有山泥傾瀉危險跡象,應該怎樣做?

答3:   你應該:

  • 遠離這些斜坡或擋土牆

  • 立即向警方報告危險情況

  • 即時通知業主或物業經理有關的跡象

 
問4:    我可以在哪裏取得不合標準政府斜坡的名單?

答4:   正在進行改善或有待改善的未合標準政府斜坡列表名單可在香港斜坡安全網頁上查閱,網址為http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/
 
問5:    香港共有多少人造斜坡?這些斜坡由誰負責維修?   

答5:   在斜坡紀錄冊內共登記了本港約60,000 個大型人造斜坡,當中包括:-
  • 約21,000個於1977年後建成的斜坡,其設計及建造應已符合現行的安全標準;
  • 約39,000個1977年前建成的斜坡,這些斜坡未必符合現行的安全標準,而且可能已因失修而變壞。

如以業權區分則有:


  • 約40,000個政府斜坡;及
  • 約20,000個私人斜坡。
私人業主須負責維修其斜坡,其責任範圍包括私家地段內的斜坡、與物業發展一併建造的斜坡及毗連工地,以及批地條款或其他土地業權文件所指定的其他範圍。政府部門則負責維修政府斜坡。

 
問6:    土力工程處怎樣令公眾可以更方便有效地獲悉斜坡資料?

答6:   土力工程處已建立了一個電腦化的斜坡資訊系統。全港所有已登記人造斜坡的資料,包括數碼地圖及影像,都可透過設於土木工程拓展署斜坡安全部與該系統連接著的電腦終端機查閱得到。該部門的地址是:九龍何文田公主道一零一號土木工程拓展署大樓七樓。 斜坡資訊系統的互聯網版本已登載於香港斜坡安全網頁上。公眾人士可利用個人電腦瀏覽該網頁以取得斜坡資料,網址為http://hkss.cedd.gov.hk/.

 
問7:    我可以在哪裏獲得有關斜坡安全事宜的意見或協助?

答7:   政府不斷致力提高公眾對斜坡安全的認識及教導私人業主有責任維修其斜坡。為此,土力工程處已成立社區諮詢服務組,就有關斜坡安全及斜坡維修工作事宜,向市民大眾提供資料及諮詢服務。社區諮詢服務組的聯絡電話為 2760 5800 ,亦可透過電郵 cau@cedd.gov.hk 與該組聯絡。
 
問8:    土力工程處的斜坡安全系統怎樣處理本港的山泥傾瀉問題?

答8:   土力工程處已制訂相關的策略,為本港發展所需達致最高的斜坡安全水準,並美化斜坡。該策略的主要內容包括:

  • 提高斜坡安全的標準和賴以達致更高安全標準所需的技術水平,並改善有關的行政和規管架構
  • 確保新建斜坡符合安全標準
  • 鞏固不符合標準的政府斜坡和為已知有潛在危險,而且接近現有建築物和重要交通走廊的天然山坡施行山泥傾瀉風險緩減措施
  • 維修所有政府人造斜坡
  • 確保業主負責物業範圍內斜坡的安全
  • 通過公眾教育、宣傳、資訊服務和發布警告,提高市民對斜坡安全的意識,並鼓勵他們作出回應
  • 在新建政府斜坡或鞏固現有政府斜坡時改善斜坡的外觀
 
問9:    土力工程處在斜坡安全方面提供什麼緊急服務?

答9:   土力工程處設有二十四小時的緊急服務,為一旦發生山泥傾瀉事故而出現危險時,可為各政府部門提供岩土工程方面的建議,從而決定所需採取的緊急應變行動,以保障公眾安全,免受山泥傾瀉帶來的威脅。

 
問10:    土力工程處怎樣在長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃下減低斜坡的視覺影響?

答10:   土力工程處十分關注長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃下各項斜坡鞏固工程的景觀影響。土力工程處承諾美化每一個在該計劃下鞏固的斜坡,並在盡可能的情況下為斜坡提供植被及保存斜坡上原有的樹木。長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃的工程亦把專業的園境設計融入其中,設計師會力求減低斜坡的視覺影響,使完工後的斜坡看來自然,並美化環境。如因斜坡安全理由而需要使用噴漿混凝土作護面,我們會採取美化斜坡的措施以減低視覺影響,例如建造護樹環以保留原有樹木、沿坡腳加設花槽、在斜坡表面加設用來種植較小型或攀爬植物的種植孔及使用美術裝飾、砌石表面及著色等。

 
問11:    在減低香港山泥傾瀉風險的問題上,土力工程處取得甚麼成果?

答11:   土力工程處在一九七七年成立以來,負責管理一套斜坡安全系統。此系統的成效可反映於持續下降的山泥傾瀉死亡率,亦證明香港的山泥傾瀉風險自一九七七年以來已大大減低。我們已成功把人造斜坡導致山泥傾瀉的整體風險降至一九七七年風險程度的25%以下。但我們絕不能自滿。我們會繼續與市民共同努力進一步減低山泥傾瀉的整體風險。