Home > On-going Projects > Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Studies and Works > Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP)

On-going Projects

Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP)
The close proximity of steeply sloping terrain to buildings and infrastructure in Hong Kong, coupled with seasonal torrential rainfall, inevitably brings with it the risk of casualties due to landslides.  Since 1977, the Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO, known as Geotechnical Control Office before 1991) has been conducting studies and works to reduce landslide risk in Hong Kong.

Until 2010, the work (which was implemented under a Landslip Preventive Measures Programme) focused on substandard man-made slopes that posed the greatest landslide risk in Hong Kong. Given more than 30 years of sustained efforts, the landslide risk arising from man-made slopes has been reduced considerably.  On the other hand, the landslide risk arising from natural hillside is rising due to the encroachment of more urban development or redevelopment on steep hillsides and is now comparable with the risk associated with man-made slopes.

In 2010, the GEO launched a rolling Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP) to systematically deal with the landslide risk associated with both man-made slopes and natural hillside. Under the LPMitP, the most deserving man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments are selected for studies each year in accordance with a risk based priority ranking system. The necessary landslip prevention and mitigation works, as identified by the studies, for man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments under Government’s maintenance responsibility are implemented under the LPMitP. For private slopes found to be liable to become dangerous, statutory actions are taken against the responsible private owners by the Buildings Department through the Buildings Ordinance to ensure its rectification.

Apart from in-house resources, the GEO also engages consultants in landslip prevention and mitigation studies and the letting and administration of contracts for the subsequent works. GEO let an average of about 10 consultancy agreements and 13 works contracts on landslip prevention and mitigation each year. So far, GEO had spent about $21.5 billion on landslip prevention and mitigation studies and works; about 5,620 Government man-made slopes were upgraded, studies for about 5,830 private man-made slopes were completed and mitigation measures for 207 natural hillside catchments were implemented.

It is Government’s policy to improve the environment and to make slopes look as natural as possible in their surroundings. Hence, apart from maintaining the highest standard of slope safety, the GEO is committed to provide landscape treatments to all man-made slopes upgraded and natural hillside mitigation measures implemented under the LPMitP. Existing trees are preserved and vegetation is used as cover to slopes and mitigation measures as far as practicable. Where the use of hard cover is unavoidable, landscape measures are implemented to minimize its visual impact. A number of technical guidelines on good practice in slope landscaping works have been published by the GEO. The most comprehensive guidance document is GEO Publication No. 1/2011 – Technical Guidelines on Landscape Treatment for Slopes.. To improve the technology in greening, the GEO has been researching into the use of vegetation in landslip prevention and mitigation works and experimenting with new techniques of providing erosion control measures and vegetation covers to steep slopes. The results of the research provide useful knowledge for establishing robust, cost-effective and eco-friendly vegetation covers for man-made slopes and natural hillside mitigation measures.

主頁 > 進行中的工程 > 防治山泥傾瀉研究和工程 > 長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃(「防治計劃」)

進行中的工程

長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃(「防治計劃」)

香港地少山多,建築物和基礎設施依山而建,加上季節性的傾盆大雨,無可避免會存在可能引致人命傷亡的山泥傾瀉的風險。自1977年起,土力工程處一直進行研究和工程,以減低香港山泥傾瀉的風險。

直至2010年,土力工程處着重處理本港最高風險的不合標準人造斜坡,有關工作是按防止山泥傾瀉計劃推行。30多年來,土力工程處努力不懈,大幅減低了人造斜坡所引致的山泥傾瀉風險。另一方面,在都市化影響下,愈來愈多發展或重建項目靠近陡峭的天然山坡。因此,天然山坡的山泥傾瀉風險與日俱增,現時天然山坡的山泥傾瀉風險水平已與人造斜坡相若。

2010年,土力工程處推行了持續的長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃(下稱「防治計劃」),以便有系統地處理人造斜坡和天然山坡涉及的山泥傾瀉風險。「防治計劃」每年會根據一套以風險為基礎的排序系統,選取最高優先次序的人造斜坡和天然山坡進行研究。對於政府負責維修的人造斜坡和天然山坡,會在「防治計劃」下進行所需的防治山泥傾瀉工程。至於發現可能變得危險的私人斜坡,屋宇署則會按《建築物條例》,要求負責維修斜坡的私人業主跟進,以確保斜坡安全。

除了利用內部資源外,土力工程處亦會委聘顧問,進行防治山泥傾瀉研究,以及批出和管理跟進的工程合約。每年,土力工程處平均批出約10份顧問合約和13份防治山泥傾瀉工程合約。至今,土力工程處在防治山泥傾瀉研究和工程方面,已動用了約215億元;鞏固了約5,620個政府人造斜坡,完成約5,830個私人人造斜坡的研究,並就207幅天然山坡施行緩減措施。

政府的政策是改善自然環境,盡可能使斜坡看來自然,以配合附近的環境。因此,除了使這些斜坡達到最高的安全標準外,土力工程處亦致力美化所有在「防治計劃」下鞏固和建造的人造斜坡和天然山坡緩減措施。我們會盡可能保留現有樹木和採用植被覆蓋斜坡和緩減措施。倘若無可避免要使用硬性護面,我們會採取美化措施,減少硬性護面的視覺影響。我們就斜坡美化工程的良好作業標準出版了若干份技術指引,其中最全面的指引文件是土力工程處刊物第1/2011號-《斜坡的園境設計技術指南》。為了改善綠化斜坡的技術,土力工程處一直研究,如何在防治山泥傾瀉工程中運用植物,並在防侵蝕措施和陡峭斜坡植被方面,不斷試驗新技術。研究結果提供了適用於人造斜坡和天然山坡緩減措施的有用知識,以培植健康、具成本效益而且環保的植被。