About Us

Services


An officer undertaking aerial photograph interpretation

Aerial Photograph Library

The GEO Aerial Photograph Library contains over 310,000 aerial photographs, both black and white, infrared and colour, dating back to 1924. They are borrowed on a regular basis by GEO staff as well as consultants working on Government projects. At any one time, between 23,000 and 25,000 photographs are out on loan.


Aerial photograph of part of Western New Territories

Aerial Photograph Interpretation

Aerial photograph interpretation (API) is an essential component of a geotechnical desk study. It provides an understanding of the geomorphological setting and the development of a site over time as well as information on, for example, past landsliding and site formation works. API is particularly useful in Hong Kong where thick vegetation now obscures hillsides and may hide critical features. An examination of historical aerial photographs, taken when the vegetation cover was more sparse, may be the only means of detecting such features.

Planning Services

The Planning Department of the HKSAR Government produces a wide range of planning documents, including Outline Zoning Plans, Outline Development Plans, Layout Plans, site search proposals for facilities of strategic importance and reports on regional planning studies. These documents are circulated widely within government for comment, including the GEO. The Planning Division is responsible for reviewing the documents, seeking views from other Divisions within the CEDD and preparing a consolidated response. GEO's contribution to the planning process is aimed at ensuring that geotechnical issues are properly addressed at the early planning stage, especially with respect to slope safety.

Geological Advisory Services

The Planning Division provides a geological consultative service to all Government departments, the private sector and the general public. The service includes advice on engineering geological aspects of land use planning and development in Hong Kong, particularly where such aspects may pose a significant constraint on project feasibility or public safety. Use is made of the archival geological maps and field sheets, rock thin sections, mineral and fossil collections, ground and aerial photographs, and old mining records. Other resources include a computerised bibliography of Hong Kong geology and a limited library.

Rock and Mineral Collections

The Division maintains a comprehensive rock and mineral reference collection, which include a large number of thin sections and bulk rock samples. Samples have been collected from all over Hong Kong and are available for inspection on request. A small collection of representative fossils has also been established. The Division operates a small laboratory equipped with rock cutting and grinding equipment, and two polarising and stereo microscopes.

Geological Modelling System

The Geological Modelling System (GMS) is a Geographic Information System (GIS) for storage, integration, interpretation and presentation of Hong Kong-wide geological, geophysical and geotechnical data. Each of the data sets contributes to our knowledge and understanding of the rock and soil materials that underlie Hong Kong, the distribution of the materials, and the processes involved in their development. The system enables access to raw data, and current interpretations of data. New thematic maps can be generated from the data, i.e., by user-specified combinations of datasets and plotted at a range of scales. Non-database information and cartography is added using the CAD-system in the Division's Cartographic Unit (linked by network to the GMS). More sophisticated queries or analyses generate output that can portray geological or terrain models, factors that may influence planning zonation, geological hazard assessments and environmental conditions.

Data

The GMS holds four main categories of data:

  1. Planning Division regional surveys including: geology, geotechnical area studies, natural terrain landslide inventory, regional gravity and stream sediment geochemistry. These datasets have Hong Kong-wide coverage.

  2. Ground Investigation data (e.g. drillhole data, seismic profiles, magnetic field data). The Planning Division attempts to get Hong Kong-wide coverage, but development is shared with data-owners or other users.

  3. Project or site-specific data collected by Planning Division, usually for limited areas. Examples include mapping for forensic landslide studies, specific infrastructure development or other project related data.

  4. External datasets, for example: Lands Department base maps, satellite images, aerial photographs, and orthophotos etc).

Data usage

The data is mainly used within Planning Division for a variety of projects, for example:

  • Stream sediment geochemical atlas

  • Natural Terrain Landslide Studies

  • Landslide studies

  • Complex geology at Tung Chung

  • Aerial photograph interpretation

Data availability

Planning Division's data is available to other users with permission of the Chief Geotechnical Engineer/Planning (though special conditions and restrictions apply). Users include other divisions in Civil Engineering and Development Department, other Government Departments, Government Corporations, Developers, Consultants, and Universities.

關於我們

服務


土力工程處人員正在進行航空照片的解讀

航空照片資料室

土力工程處航空照片資料庫藏有超過310,000幀黑白、彩色及紅外線航空照片,最早期的照片攝於1924年。土力工程處人員及政府工程顧問不時需借閱這些照片。借出的照片數目經常維持在23,000至25,000幀之間。


新界西部分地區的航空照片

航空照片判釋

航空照片判釋是巖土工程資料研究的一個重要環節。它可提供某一地點過去的地形狀況和發展情況資料,以及過往山泥傾瀉及平整地盤工程等的資料。航空照片判釋在本港特別派用場,因為有些山邊會被茂密的樹木掩蓋,使人難以察覺其重要特徵。檢視於植物比較稀疏時攝下的歷史航空照片,可能是偵察這些特徵的唯一途徑。

規劃服務

香港特別行政區政府規劃署製備各種規劃文件,包括分區計劃大綱圖、發展大綱圖、發展藍圖、具策略重要性設施的覓地建議及地區規劃研究的報告。這些文件在政府內部廣泛傳閱以徵詢意見。土力工程處亦屬傳閱單位之一。規劃部負責檢視這些文件,收取土木工程拓展署內各部的意見以及擬備綜合的回應。土力工程處在規劃過程中所起作用,是確保於規劃早期妥為處理土力工程方面的問題,特別是與斜坡安全有關的問題。

地質諮詢服務

規劃部為各政府部門、商界及公眾人士提供地質諮詢服務。這些服務包括就本港土地使用規劃及發展的工程地質事宜提出意見,特別是當這些問題對工程計劃的可行性或公眾安全構成明顯影響的時候。該部運用現有地質圖及現場記錄表、岩石薄切片、礦物及化石藏品、地面及航空照片以及舊採礦記錄輔助工作,而其他資源則包括電腦化香港地質文獻目錄及有限藏量的圖書館。

岩石及礦物藏品

該部保存豐富的岩石及礦物參考藏品,包括大量岩石薄切片及塊狀樣本。這些樣本採自全港各地,可按要求索閱。此外,該部又建立了一組具代表性的化石藏品,並且設有一間具備岩石切磨儀器以及兩座極化立體顯微鏡的小型實驗室。

地質模擬系統

地質模擬系統是一個地理資料系統,供儲存、整合、詮釋及呈示全港地質、地球物理及土力資料。每一資料組均能增加我們對本港地下岩石及土壤物料的認識與瞭解,各項物料的分佈及其發展所涉及的過程。該系統可存取原數據以及對數據進行解析。另外亦可利用該等資料製作新的點題地圖,即運用使用者指定的資料組合製成不同比例的地圖。

此外,這系統又能以網絡相連到規劃部製圖組的電腦輔助繪圖系統,加入非資料庫資料及製圖過程。在更精細的查核或分析之下,又能塑製地質或地勢模型,對於規劃分界、地質風險評估及環境條件均有影響。

資料

地質模擬系統存有四大類資料:

  1. 規劃部地區調查,包括:地質、土力地區研究、天然地勢山泥傾瀉記錄、地區重力及溪流沉積地球化學資料,而且是全港地區的資料。
  2. 探土數據(例如鑽孔數據、震波面貌、磁場數據)。規劃部嘗試獲取全港地區的資料,但須與數據擁有人或其他使用人士共同發展數據。
  3. 規劃部收集得的工程項目或指定地點數據,通常以特定地區為限。有關例子包括繪圖作法律性質的山泥傾瀉研究、特定的基建發展或其他與工程有關的數據。
  4. 外部數據組,例如:地政總署基本地圖、衛星影像、航空照片及垂直投影照片等)。

資料的使用

數據主要由規劃部內部使用作各種計劃用,例如:

  • 溪流沉積地球化學地圖
  • 天然山坡的山泥傾瀉研究
  • 山泥傾瀉研究
  • 東涌的複雜地質
  • 航空照片判釋

可用數據

規劃部的數據可供其他使用人士在總土力工程師/策劃批准下使用(須符合特定條件及限制)。使用這些數據的人士包括土木工程拓展署其他部組、其他政府部門、政府機構、發展商、顧問及大學。