Central and Wan Chai Reclamation

Central and Wan Chai Reclamation

Reclamation extent for wan chai development phase II is under review

Background

After the completion of the Central and Wan Chai Reclamation Feasibility Study in 1989, the then Land Development Policy Committee endorsed a concept of gradual implementation of the reclamation. The reclamation consists of three district development cells separated by parks, namely, Central, Tamar and Exhibition. These development cells were further divided into five phases.

Project Scope & Objectives

The proposed reclamation extends along the waterfront from Sheung Wan to Causeway Bay. The broad objectives of the project, inter alia, include :

  • to provide land for the Hong Kong Station and the extended overrun tunnel of the Airport Railway;
  • to provide land for Central-Wan Chai Bypass and Island Eastern Corridor Link;
  • to provide land for the future Shatin to Central Link;
  • to provide land for the future North Hong Kong Island Line;
  • to improve the environment of adjoining crowded districts by providing additional open space on the new reclamation; and
  • to integrate the development with the existing areas.

The reclaimed land above the underground transport infrastructure could be used to construct a world class waterfront promenade.

Progress & Programme

At present three projects are completed, viz :-

  • Central Reclamation Phase I (an Airport Core Programme project accommodating the Hong Kong Station of the Airport Railway)

    The Central Reclamation Phase I formed land of 20 hectares by reclamation to provide the site for the Airport Railway Hong Kong Station. The remaining newly formed land is for general development and the reprovisioning of piers, cooling water pumphouses and other facilities displaced by the reclamation. Works commenced in September 1993 and were completed in June 1998.

  • Central Reclamation Phase II (Tamar Basin Reclamation )

    The Central Reclamation Phase II formed land of 5.3 hectares, mainly by the reclamation of the Tamar Basin. Works commenced in December 1994 and were completed in September 1997.

  • Wan Chai Reclamation Phase I (Island Reclamation for the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre Extension)

    Wan Chai Reclamation Phase I includes the formation of an island of 7.0 hectares by reclamation at the northern side of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre to provide land for building an extension to the Centre. The island configuration is to ensure that water quality in the vicinity remained at acceptable levels after reclamation was completed . Works commenced in March 1994 and were completed in July 1997.

  • Central Reclamation Phase III

    Central Reclamation Phase III comprises a new reclamation joining the Central Reclamation Phase I to Wan Chai Development Phase II near Lung King Street. This reclamation is required to accommodate the Airport Railway extended overrun tunnel, the North Hong Kong Island Line, Central-Wan Chai Bypass (CWB) and the Road P2 network. On the land above the proposed bypass, a continuous waterfront promenade will also be provided to create an attractive urban environment. Works commenced in February 2003 and was substantially completed in October 2011.

In addition to the above completed works, the remaining project is:

  • Wan Chai Development Phase II

    Wan Chai Development Phase II extends along the waterfront from the Central Reclamation Phase III to Causeway Bay. This project together with Central Reclamation Phases I, II and III will mainly provide land for the construction of the Central-Wan Chai Bypass and the Island Eastern Corridor Link, the Hong Kong Island section of the Shatin to Central Link and the North Hong Kong Island Line and for enhancing the harbour-front. Having considered the unresolved objections, the Chief Executive in Council authorized the reclamation and the road schemes without modification on 19 May 2009. The project was approved by the Legislative Council Finance Committee on 3 July 2009 for upgrading to Category A. The construction works have commenced in end 2009 for completion scheduled in 2017.

中環及灣仔填海計劃

中環及灣仔填海計劃

政府現正檢討灣仔發展第II期的填海範圍

背景

中環及灣仔填海計劃可行性研究於1989 年完成後,前土地發展政策委員會通過逐步實施填海計劃的概念。填海區由中環、添馬艦及會展中心三個由公園分隔開的地區發展範圍組成,而這些發展範圍又再分五期發展。

工程計劃範圍及目標

建議的填海區是沿上環海旁伸展至銅鑼灣海旁。工程計劃的主要目的包括:

  • 提供土地興建機場鐵路香港站及鐵路越位隧道延展部分;
  • 提供土地建造中環及灣仔繞道和東區走廊連接路;
  • 提 供 土 地 建 造 未 來 沙 田 中 環 線 ;
  • 提供土地建造未來北港島線;
  • 在新填海區內提供額外休憩用地,以改善鄰近擠迫地區的環境;以及
  • 融合現有地區和填海區的發展。

填造土地除興建地底運輸基建外,地面可以用作建造一條世界級的海濱長廊。

工程進展及施工計劃

目前,有三項工程計劃已經完成,詳情如下:

  • 中環填海計劃第I 期( 為機場鐵路香港站提供用地的一個機場核心計劃項目)

    中環填海計劃第I 期填造20公頃土地以提供用地興建機場鐵路香港站。其餘新開拓的土地會用作一般發展,以及重建碼頭、冷卻水泵房及其他因為填海工程而須遷移的設施。工程在1993年9月展開,已於1998年6月完成。

  • 中環填海計劃第II 期(添馬艦基地填海計劃)

    中環填海計劃第II 期,主要包括在添馬艦基地填造5.3公頃土地。工程於1994年12月展開,已於1997年9月完成。

  • 灣仔填海計劃第I 期( 香港會議展覽中心擴建部分的島嶼填海計劃)

    灣仔填海計劃第I期包括在香港會議展覽中心的北面,以填海的方式開拓一個7公頃的島,為擴建該中心提供土地。該島的設計是為了確保周圍的水質,在填海工程完成後維持在可接受的水平。工程在1994年3月展開, 於1997年7月完成。

  • 中環填海計劃第III 期

    中環填海計劃第III 期會填造新土地,連接中環填海計劃第I 期及龍景街附近的灣仔發展計劃第II 期。這填海區提供土地興建機場鐵路越位元隧道延展部分、北港島鐵路線、中環灣仔繞道和P2道路網。在繞道上面的土地亦會興建一條連綿的海濱散步長廊,令市區環境更具吸引力。工程於2003 年2月動工,並已於2011年10月大致完成。

除上述已完成工程計劃外,其餘工程計劃如下:

  • 灣仔發展計劃第II 期

    灣仔發展計劃第II 期的範圍,是由中環填海計劃第III 期的海旁伸展至銅鑼灣。這計劃連同中環填海計劃第I 、II 及III 期,將會提供土地興建中環及灣仔繞道和東區走廊連接路、沙田至中環線鐵路港島段及北港島鐵路線及優化這一帶的海濱。在考慮過所有未能調解的反對書後,行政長官會同行政會議在2009年5月19日授權填海和道路工程計劃可無需更改地進行。立法會財務委員會於2009年7月3日批准把這項工程計劃提升至甲級。工程已在2009年年底動工,並在2017年完成。