Public Services

Sediment Disposal

Although non-dredge methods are encouraged for Hong Kong reclamation projects, dredging is necessary for certain works related to the maintenance of harbours, fairways, anchorage or drainage channels. The Environment, Transport and Works Bureau (ETWB) has promulgated a framework for the management of dredged/excavated sediment through the ETWB Technical Circular (Works) No. 34/2002 Download PDF (68KB) . As stipulated in the circular, the method of disposing of dredged sediment depends on the level of contamination of the sediment. Sediment disposal methods currently used in Hong Kong are:


  • (a) Open Sea Disposal of Dredged Sediment


    Two open sea floor disposal areas at South Cheung Chau and East Ninepin and various empty marine borrow pits, shown in MFC-001 Download PDF (1.57MB) , have been used for disposal of uncontaminated mud. A centralised management and monitoring scheme has been set up to provide overall control of the operations and environmental monitoring at all the uncontaminated mud disposal areas. This centralised scheme meets the new international standards for managing mud disposal facilities adopted by the London Convention, to which China is a signatory.


  • (b) Confined Disposal of Dredged Sediment at East Sha Chau


    Contaminated mud is being disposed of at East Sha Chau in an environmentally acceptable manner. Compliance environmental monitoring has been conducted since operation of the mud pits and will continue until 2 years after closure of all the pits to ensure that there is no adverse impact on the environment.


    Guide Boat Leading the Barge to the Target Area for Contaminated Mud Disposal at Pit IVb

    Guide Boat Leading the Barge to the Target Area
    for Contaminated Mud Disposal


A charging system has been implemented for private project proponents to dispose of sediment. Private project proponents are charged pro-rata for the cost of dredging, managing, capping of mud pits, and environmental monitoring. The cost will be reviewed on an annual basis.


Sediment Charge rate per cubic metre (as measured in situ at the dredging/excavation site)
Type 1 – Open Sea Disposal of Category L Sediment HK$1.45 (since 27 March 2017)
Others HK$79.00 (since 10 March 2017)

Please contact Chief Engineer / Fill Management for enquiries.

公共服务

海泥卸置

香港水域和河道需定期进行挖泥工程,以确保航道和船只停泊区的畅通和河道有足够的防洪流量。而卸置海泥的方式,视乎海泥有否受到污染。环境运输及工务局最近制定一套海泥卸置管理守则,除鼓励于填海区减少挖掘海泥外,并引入生物毒性试验,以加强和更科学化地分析海泥是否受到污染。管理守则刊载在环境运输及工务局技术指引第34/2002号下载 PDF (68KB)  ,所有工程必须根据该管理守则处理海泥。


( 一) 海泥卸置区


填料管理部的其中一项主要职责,就是策划和管理未受污染海泥的卸置工作,卸置场地包括两个海上海泥卸置区和多个用海底废弃采砂坑。它们的位置显示在图MFC-001下载 PDF (1.56MB)  。透过一个中央管理及监察系统,该部更能有效地管理未受污染海泥的卸置运作和环境监测,此系统符合伦敦公约所采用的管理卸泥设施的国际新标准,香港是透过中国而成为该公约的签署人。


( 二) 沙洲以东污染泥坑


填料管理部负责规划、管理及复盖沙洲以东用作卸置污染海泥的泥坑,确保卸置污泥的方法,是符合环保的要求。自泥坑开始运作以来,该部一直进行环境监测,并会持续至所有泥坑关闭后的两年,以确保合乎环保的要求及不会对环境做成不良影响。


领航船正在引导满载污泥的船到指定的位置倾倒污泥

领航船正在引导满载污泥的船到指定的位置倾倒污泥


政府会向使用海泥卸置区的私人发展项目倡议者收取费用。费用的厘定是按比例收回提供此等设施的成本,包括开挖、管理、回填和环境监测。费用会每年作出调整。


海泥 每立方米的收费 (有关体积按照疏浚/挖掘工地现址量度)
第1类 - 于海上卸泥场弃置的未受污染海泥 HK$1.45 (由2017年3月27日起)
其他 HK$79.00 (由2017年3月10日起)

如欲查询,请联络填料管理部总工程师。