Home > Public Services > Geotechnical Services > Geotechnical Control

Public Services

Geotechnical Control
  • One of GEO's major slope safety regulatory functions is to check the design of earthworks to ensure they meet current safety standards. Geotechnical checking is exercised largely through the three District Divisions of the GEO: Mainland West Division, Mainland East Division and Island Division, each of which has responsibility for a geographical region of Hong Kong. Because of its importance to the slope safety system, about a quarter of the GEO professional staff are devoted to geotechnical checking.

  • The scope of checking covers the design of the geotechnical aspects of all building developments and civil engineering works and the standards of site supervision. In particular, the District Divisions check the adequacy of site formation works, slope upgrading works, earth retaining structures and deep excavations that are designed and constructed by the private sector, public authorities and Government departments.

  • District Division staff are concerned daily with a range of geotechnical problems relating to projects which are often situated on extremely difficult terrain. Major earthworks are commonplace for building developments on slopes, as are deep excavations on reclaimed land. The staff deal with a large number of submissions and are constantly in direct contact with consulting engineers and architects in the private sector, and with professional staff of other Government departments.

  • In exercising geotechnical control over private sector projects, the GEO operates through the statutory authority of the Buildings Department, which approves design submissions made by developer's/owner's designers before construction proceeds. For public works, under Government administrative instructions the District Divisions exercise geotechnical control over the projects undertaken by various Government departments and offices, to the same standard as for private sector projects.

主页 > 公共服务 > 岩土工程服务 > 岩土工程管制

公共服务

岩土工程管制
  • 在斜坡安全管制方面,土力工程处的其中一项主要职能,是审核所有新的土力工程设计,确保它们符合现行的安全标准。岩土工程审核工作主要由土力工程处辖下的三个地区部执行:九龙及新界西部九龙及新界东部港岛部。各地区部负责本港其中一个地理区域。鉴于这项工作对于斜坡安全系统十分重要,故此土力工程处约有四分之一专业人员专责执行岩土工程的审核工作。

  • 岩土工程审核是为了监管全港建筑发展、土木工程的岩土工程设计事务及其工地监督标准;工作范围包括审核由私人、公共机构及政府部门设计及进行的各种地盘平整工程、斜坡巩固工程、挡土墙及深开挖工程是否恰当。

  • 地区部人员每天都要应付本港众多发展项目引发的各种岩土工程问题,其中不少工程项目位于极其困难的地点。这些人员要处理大量的设计审核,并且经常须亲自与私人发展商的顾问工程师和建筑师以及其他政府部门的专业人员联络沟通。

  • 屋宇署负责审批私人发展商或其业主代理人在进行建筑工程前呈交的设计。土力工程处则透过屋宇署的法定权力,管制私人发展计划的岩土工程。地区部亦会依据政府的行政指令,管制各政府部门发展计划内的岩土工程,标准与私人相同。