About Us

Memoirs and Geological maps
Map and Memoirs


General Memoirs


Regional Memoirs


The Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

The Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

The Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong by J.A. Fyfe, R. Shaw, S.D.G. Campbell, K.W. Lai and P.A. Kirk, 2000, 210p., 109 figures, 7 tables, 82 plates, and 6 maps at 1:100,000 scale. The memoir presents a comprehensive overview of the Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong, including its superficial deposits, both onshore and offshore, geomorphology, and weathering of insitu rock. The superficial deposits are described in terms of their age, stratigraphy, composition, engineering character, and resource significance. The memoir is extensively illustrated and is supplied as a boxed set which includes 6 thematic maps depicting various aspects of topography, bathymetry, and the distribution of superficial deposits of various ages.


The Pre-Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

The Pre-Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

The Pre-Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong by R.J. Sewell, S.D.G. Campbell, C.J.N. Fletcher, K.W. Lai and P.A. Kirk, 2000, 181p., 90 figures, 16 tables, 103 plates, and 4 maps at 1:100,000 scale. The memoir presents a comprehensive overview of the Pre-Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong, including its stratigraphy and structure. The classification and description of the rocks are discussed in detail and their ages and distributions are described and interpreted. Hong Kong!|s rocks are also considered in relation to regional stratigraphy and tectonics. The memoir is extensively illustrated and is supplied as a boxed set which includes 4 thematic maps depicting the solid geology, the relief based on a digital elevation model, and magnetic anomalies offshore.


Since its establishment in 1982, the Hong Kong Geological Survey has published over 40 maps and reports. Fifteen 1:20,000-scale geological maps, together with six descriptive memoirs.

Maps and memoirs index


Memoir No. 1

Memoir of Geology of Sha Tin

Geology of Sha Tin by R. Addison, 1986, 85 p., 10 figures, 8 tables, and 35 plates. This memoir describes the solid and superficial geology of Sha Tin in central New Territories and accompanies Hong Kong Geological Survey Geological Map Sheet No. 7. The memoir includes descriptions of Late Palaeozoic rocks in Hong Kong along with Mesozoic volcanic, granitic and sedimentary rocks.


Memoir No. 2

Memoir of Geology of Hong Kong and Kowloon

Geology of Hong Kong and Kowloon by P.J. Strange and R. Shaw, 1986, 134 p., 6 tables, 31 figures, and 61 plates. This memoir describes the solid and superficial geology of Hong Kong Island and Kowloon. It covers the geology depicted on map Sheet Nos. 11 and 15 but also parts of Sheet Nos. 10, 14 and 16. This area is underlain mainly by Cretaceous volcanic and granitic rocks.


Memoir No. 3

Memoir of Geology of the Western New Territories

Geology of the Western New Territories by R.L. Langford, K.W. Lai, R.S. Arthurton, and R. Shaw, 140 p., 25 figures, 8 tables, and 58 plates. This memoir describes the geology covered by Geological Map Sheet Nos. 2, 5 and 6 which is underlain mainly by Mesozoic granitic and volcanic rocks, and Palaeozoic sedimentary rocks. The memoir includes a description of buried karst in the vicinity of Yuen Long.


Memoir No. 4

Memoir of Geology of Sai Kung and Clear Water Bay

Geology of Sai Kung and Clear Water Bay by P.J. Strange, R. Shaw and R. Addison, 1990, 111 p., 21 figures, 9 tables, and 42 plates. This memoir describes the solid and superficial geology of Sai Kung and Clear Water Bay in the eastern New Territories, which is underlain mainly by Cretaceous volcanic rocks. It accompanies Map Sheet Nos. 8, 12, and 16.


Memoir No. 5

Memoir of Geology of the Northeastern New Territories

Geology of the Northeastern New Territories by K.W. Lai, S.D.G. Campbell, and R. Shaw, 1996, 6 Tables, 27 Figures, 42 Plates, 144 p. This memoir describes the solid and superficial geology of the northeastern New Territories which is composed mainly of Jurassic volcanic rocks and Cretaceous sedimentary rocks. It accompanies geological map Sheet Nos. 3 and 4, including a description of Ping Chau.


Memoir No. 6

Memoir of Geology of Lantau District

Geology of Lantau District by R.L. Langford, J.C.W. James, R.Shaw, S.D.G. Campbell, P.A. Kirk and R.J. Sewell, 1995, 3 Tables, 24 Figures, 54 Plates, 173p. This memoir accompanies geological map Sheet Nos.9, 10, 13, and 14 and mainly describes the geology of Lantau Island, Ma Wan, and part of Tsing Yi. The district is composed mostly of Jurassic volcanic and granitic rocks.

关于我们

报告及地质图
地图及报告


一般报告


地区性报告


香港第四纪的地质

The Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

J.A. Fyfe, R. Shaw, S.D.G. Campbell, K.W. Lai及P.A. Kirk于2000年合着的《香港第四纪的地质》,有210页、109幅图解、7份图表、82帧照片及6幅1:100,000的地图。这份报告全面概述香港第四纪的香港地质,包括近岸及离岸的表土沉积物,地貌及原地风化的岩石等。有关表土沉积物是就其年龄、地层成份、工程特征及资源重要性方面描述的。这份报告内图解丰富,并以盒装的形式出售,当中附有6幅专题地图,描绘不同年代表土沉积物的地形、海深及分布情况。


香港第四纪前的地质

The Pre-Quaternary Geology of Hong Kong

R.J. Sewell, S.D.G. Campbell, C.J.N. Fletcher, K.W. Lai及P.A. Kirk于2000年合着的《香港第四纪前的地质》,有181页、90幅图解、16份图表、103帧照片及4幅1:100,000的地图。这份报告全面概述香港第四纪前地质的地层及结构等方面,详细讨论岩石的分类和名称,并描述和诠释其年龄及分布情况。该报告亦有涉及香港的地质情况与邻近的区域地质情况和构造地质的关系。这份报告图解丰富,并以盒装的形式出售,当中附有4幅主题地图,描绘香港的固体地质、根据数码高程模型而制作的地形图以及离岸的地磁异常情况。


自从1982年成立以来,香港地质调查组已刊印了逾40套地图与报告。其中有15份1:20,000地质地图连同6份描述研究报告。

Maps and memoirs index


研究报告第1号

Memoir of Geology of Sha Tin

沙田的地质,作者R.Addison, 1986年, 有85页,10幅图解、8份图表及35帧照片。本研究报告描述新界中部沙田的固态及表面地质,并随同香港地质调查组地质地图第7号印发。研究报告内容包括描述本港的后古生代岩石连同中生代火山岩、花岗岩及沉积岩。


研究报告第2号

Memoir of Geology of Hong Kong and Kowloon

香港及九龙的地质,作者P.J.Strange及R.Shaw, 1986年, 有134页,6份图表、31幅图解及61帧照片。本研究报告描述港岛及九龙的固体及表面地质,述及地质图第11及15号,以及第10、14及16号部分地方。该区地下大部分为白垩纪火山岩及花岗岩石。


研究报告第3号

Memoir of Geology of the Western New Territories

新界西的地质,作者R.L.Langford, K.W.Lai, R.S.Arthurton及R.Shaw, 有140页,25幅图解、8份图表及58帧照片。这份报告描述地质图第2、5及6号范围的地质。该区地下主要是中生代花岗岩及火山岩以及古生代沉积岩。报告亦描述元朗范围埋藏的岩溶。


研究报告第4号

Memoir of Geology of Sai Kung and Clear Water Bay

西贡及清水湾的地质,作者P.J.Strange, R.Shaw and R. Addison, 1990年, 有111页,21幅图解,9份图表及42帧照片。这份报告描述新界东部西贡及清水湾的固体及表面地质,该区地下主要是白垩纪火山岩。报告随同地质图第8、12及16号印发。


研究报告第5号

Memoir of Geology of the Northeastern New Territories

新界东北部的地质,作者K.W.Lai, S.D.G.Campbell及R.Shaw, 1996年,有6份图表,27幅图解及42帧照片,共144页。这份报告描述新界东北部的固体及表面地质,该区主要由侏罗纪火山岩及白垩纪沉渍岩形成。报告随同地质图第3及4号印发,更包括对东平洲的描述。


研究报告第6号

Memoir of Geology of Lantau District

大屿山地区的地质,作者R.L.Langford, J.C.W.James, R.Shaw, S.D.G.Campbell, P.A.Kirk及R.J.Sewell, 1995年,有3份图表,24幅图解,54帧照片,共173页。这份报告随同地质图第9、10、13及14号印发,主要描述大屿山、马湾及青衣部分地区的地质,而该区主要是由侏罗纪火山及花岗岩形成。