Home > About Us > Organisation > Geotechnical Engineering Office > Landslip Preventive Measures Division 2

About Us

Landslip Preventive Measures Division 2

The Landslip Preventive Measures Division 2 consists of two Design Sections and two Consultant Management Sections.

  • Under the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation (LPMit) Programme, the Division and its consultants carry out studies of government man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments to identify potential danger and the need for prevention and mitigation works. A risk-based priority ranking system will be used to select the most deserving man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments with known hazards for action under the LPMit Programme. The Division and its consultants will carry out the detailed design and implement the necessary landslip prevention and mitigation works for substandard man-made slopes and vulnerable natural hillside catchments.

  • The landslip prevention and mitigation works designed in-house by the Design Sections are implemented through works contracts managed by the Works Section of the Landslip Preventive Measures Division 3. The activities of the Design Sections include desk study, aerial photograph interpretation, field mapping and ground investigation, stability analysis, debris mobility modeling, design of landslip prevention and mitigation works and provision of design advices during construction. Some of the man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments dealt with by the Division are implemented through consultants. The tasks carried out by these consultants, who are managed by the Consultant Management Sections, include studies of man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments, design of landslip prevention and mitigation works, preparation of contract documents and supervision of construction. The duties of the Consultant Management Sections include reviewing and monitoring of the progress of the landslip prevention and mitigation measures and related tasks under the consultancy agreement, expenditure control and coordination with other government departments. The progress of the geotechnical studies and landslip prevention and mitigation works carried out under the LPMit Programme are shown on the Quarterly Report prepared by the Landslip Preventive Measures Division 1.

  • The Landslip Preventive Measures Division 2 is keen to improve quality and cost effectiveness in the design of landslip prevention and mitigation works. Therefore, innovative design approaches and new techniques are adopted where found suitable.

  • Apart from slope safety, we are concerned about the appearance of man-made slopes and natural hillside catchments. It is GEO's policy to make the man-made slopes upgraded under the LPMit Programme look as natural as possible through the use of soft and/or hard landscape treatment. For natural hillside catchments, the existing vegetation including trees and shrubs is preserved as far as practical during the construction of landslide risk mitigation measures. Soft and/or hard landscape treatments similar to those for man-made slopes would be provided for the risk mitigation measures as appropriate to minimize their visual impact and blend them with their surrounding environment.

  • All consultants involved in LPMit projects are required under their terms of the consultancy agreements to provide necessary landscape input during the design and construction stages. GEO has been appointing landscape consultants to provide landscape input to the in-house projects. In addition, technical support on landscaping is available from the Landscape Unit of CEDD Headquarter.

  • To improve the technology in slope greening, we have been pursuing researches into the use of vegetation in landslip prevention and mitigation works and experimenting with new techniques of providing erosion control measures and vegetation covers to steep slopes. Results of the research provide useful knowledge for establishing robust, cost-effective and eco-friendly vegetation covers for man-made slopes and natural hillside mitigation measures.

  • The GEO issued GEO Publication No. 1/2011 “Technical Guidelines on Landscape Treatment for Slopes” in September 2011, to promulgate the latest best practice of landscape treatment for slopes, which include landscape treatment for natural terrain mitigation works and landslide repairs.  In 2012, the Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects granted a Merit Award under the Landscape Planning/Research Category for this new Publication in recognition of GEO’s continuous improvement and contributions to the enhancement of the slope environment.

主页 > 关于我们 > 组织结构 > 土力工程处 > 防止山泥倾泻部2

关于我们

防止山泥倾泻部2

防止山泥倾泻部2设有两个设计组及两个顾问工程管理组。

  • 在长远防治山泥倾泻计划下,本部及其顾问对政府人造斜坡及天然山坡进行研究,以一套风险评估系统来核实有潜在危险及需要进行防治工程的个案。对于不合标准的人造斜坡及有潜在危险的天然山坡,本部及其顾问会进行详细设计及进行所需的防治工程。

  • 由本部设计组设计的防治工程会交由承建商施工,这些施工合约由防止山泥倾泻部3的工程组管理。设计组的职责包括搜查资料、航空照片判释、野外调查、安排探土工程、进行斜坡稳定性分析、模拟泥石流动分析、设计防治工程及于工程施工期间给予设计上的建议。有些人造斜坡及天然山坡的防治工程则由工程顾问以合约管理形式进行。工程顾问负责对人造斜坡及天然山坡进行岩土工程研究、防治工程设计、拟备合约文件以及监督建筑工程,而顾问工程管理组的职责是提供协调其他政府部门的行政支援、检讨及监察工程及顾问合约内工作的进度及控制开支等。长远防治山泥倾泻计划下的岩土工程研究及防治工程的进度,均刊载于防止山泥倾泻部1拟备的季报

  • 本部致力提升防治工程的设计之质素和效益。在合适的情况下,我们会采用创新的设计方法和新颖的技术。

  • 我们除了顾及人造斜坡及天然山坡的安全外,亦很注重斜坡的外貌。土力工程处的政策,是要尽量令到经长远防治山泥倾泻计划巩固的人造斜坡显得自然。至于天然山坡,在进行防治工程时会尽量保留原有的植被,包括所有乔木和灌木。防治工程完成后,我们会利用适当的美化景观方法去减少视觉上的突兀,令人造斜坡及天然山坡与周围环境融为一体。

  • 所有长远防治山泥倾泻计划的工程顾问都需要根据制订的合约条款,对巩固斜坡的设计上加入美化概念。土力工程处亦有聘请专业园境顾问,对其设计的防治工程提供美化建议。另外,本署的环境美化组亦会适当地提供园境技术支援。

  • 为了提升斜坡绿化技术,我们持续进行有关使用植物于防治山泥倾泻工程上的研究,对防侵蚀措施和斜坡上的植被进行试验。各项研究结果,有助就人造斜坡及天然山坡上提供生长稳定、符合经济效益、并与生态环境协调的植被,加强相关的知识。

  • 土力工程处于二零一一年九月出版了土力工程处刊物第1/2011号《斜坡环境美化技术指南》,推广最新及最全面的斜坡环境美化技术,内容涵盖天然山坡风险缓减措施及修复山泥倾泻残痕的美化工程。二零一二年,这新技术指南获香港园境师学会颁发优异奖(景观规划/研究组别),表扬土力工程处对持续改善斜坡环境的贡献。